Cabin life

in #photography5 years ago

Hey steemies!

I know I just dropped off the face of the earth again, I will be back soon with new adventures, I promise. Life got a little sideways for a while plus work season was back so I decided I need a social media break and recharge my batteries. I wont say too great details until I get back. Clearly we didn't tent it like a couple of hobos this time of year because it's too cold but now that we are off season there are some killer deals on cozy little cabins nestled in the mountains. Not quite as disconnected as I'm used to for a mountain trip, we still have internet access!! We are staying in a small town somewhere in beautiful British-Columbia for the next little while and we have some hiking to do! In the meantime, here is a sneak peak of where we are.

mount robson.jpg
Shot 1/320 sec. f/5.6 95 mm, ISO 400

DSC_0523 (5).jpg
Shot 1/200 sec. f/5.6 116 mm, ISO 200

Cheers! X🐞X

Sort:  

Very nice photos, especially the snow one. It looks like your lens might have been a little frosty, though! :-) Is that a gas grill I see around the corner, too?

We got snow this morning but, fortunately, it was just a dusting. There have been threats of serious accumulation, but I'm hoping it holds off a bit longer.

It looks frosty but its not , it was actually a snow storm. It's just a normal propane bbq . We didn't want to see snow but I think it's just a reality of where we live. It snowed quite a bit on or trip, like everyday, it made photos a little harder to get.

My parents use a gas (propane) grill year-round. In the winter months, that involves shoveling a path to it and trying to pry the frozen lid open :-)

Do you have a weather-sealed camera? Taking photos in the rain and snow is a lot of fun, but I wouldn't risk my gear if it weren't weather sealed.

haha I use it year round too. I don't shovel tho, i just stand in the snow bank( we only get like a foot or 2)

I don't have a weather sealed camera. I know it's expensive but i'm very hard on my gear because I climb mountains with it around my neck with a backpack full of lenses in rain or shine and near water falls. It's almost a decade old so it held up the abuse and it works at -40. I wouldn't say it's indestructible but...close. Nikons are well built.

I'm in much the same situation, camera-wise, though I use a Canon. It has a solid metal body and some decent weather sealing, though I haven't tried it at -40. Some scientist was using the same body in Antarctica for awhile, though. That was a selling point :-)

That's a good selling point in northern climates. I didn't really consider any of that I just push it to the limits and see lol. My first camera was a second hand nikon and I just loved it. I heard canons have some pretty worthy cameras as well but I never tried them. I'm looking to upgrade my camera to the new nikon z7 in the next couple of years but it's expensive, my gear is getting pretty old.

The new mirrorless systems do look amazing. I was eyeing up the Canon R but, as you say, they carry quite a price tag. Maybe when I finish up this grad degree and (hopefully) have a life again. The Nikon body looks pretty nice and they released an interesting road map to what lenses they're going to be producing. Canon launched with some really nice lenses, but the price isn't quite so nice!

Looks awesome....perfect place to recharge....

yes it was! Felt good to relax.

102 Upvotes...lots of peeps glad your back..
Cabins looked like Castle Mtn Chalets?
I have to hike up it next time I'm there...

I know I feel so popular all of the sudden when I thought everyone would have forgotten about me by now! We considered going to the Castle Mountain Chalets but we went to Valemount British-Columbia instead, bigger cabins and cheaper.

Ahhh looks gorgeous! Good to see you around. I figured work was probably in full swing for you again. Enjoy cabin life and stay warm!

Good to see you too!! yeah, work seems to get in the way of all the fun haha. We don't get much notice when it's time to go to work or when we are done. I can't say I stayed warm! but it was never the plan :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84