Photography: Ellora Caves #5

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

image

Another shot I took some years back of Cave #10 from the upper floor presidio. This one shows the intricate ceiling detail connecting to the pillars. The remarkable thing about this monumental carving is that the vision of the creator was achieved using negative displacement of materials over generations and using the crudest of tools. I've never really come to grips with this. Imagine how the original designer, most likely, never got to see his final work of art and never got to oversee its completion. I've been photographing the Ellora caves since 1985 (in over 20 visits) and I realize I could never visit here enough to get a true comprehensive understanding of the scope of the artistic and engineering achievement of these 100 or so carved caves.

Sort:  

This is amazing. Ajanta and Ellora are really something. I want to see it this week. Any recommendations?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73