DowntownLA - Night Shots of the Walt Disney Concert Hall

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

116A0109.jpg

Armed with a 1970's Italian made Bogen tripod that my dad gave me really paid off tonight. That old Bogen weighs a ton comparison to the light weight flimsy tripods of 2018. I'll take beefy and heavy any day of the week (protection for my camera and final images).

Okay so I went on a rant about tripods; but you gotta have one to these kinds of shots. So I'll dive into the inspiration.

Shot above is of the Walt Disney Concert Hall designed by Frank Gehry in 2003

BTW!!! If you want to get some tips on night photography I wrote a tutorial based on this shoot (link):
https://steemit.com/photography/@lightenup/urban-night-photography-tutorial

116A0095.jpg

I rang up my buddy Josh this morning about doing some shooting. Normally when we shoot together we get a couple of models and shoot some artsy glam stuff. That's fun but we decided to do something urban. We both happen to live in LA, "Let's go shoot some fucking long exposure shit downtown!"

...and that's what we did. Loaded up some tripods, bags of lenses, parked and walked downtown

Above shot: close up of 110 Fwy*

116A0119.jpg

Another shot of Walt Disney Concert Hall

I was waiting for a city bus to go by because the interior bus light would produce some crazy bright blue light from the interior. But all the downtown buses had wraps on the outside and no light was really emitting.

116A0092.jpg

Long lens, I think I used an 85mm, for this shot of the 110 Fwy
116A0087.jpg

This shot was taken about 10minutes after the sun went down. Just getting warmed up with setting up the tripod, adjusting camera settings. Getting acquainted with the gear in the dark.

116A0078.jpg

I must really be digging the in-tight shots. The wide wasn't speaking to me.

116A0132.jpg

This was actually on the walk back to the car. Sundays you're allowed to park in loading zones. So parking really isn't an issue on Sunday.

***Above shot: on the way back to the car I heard a car approaching and just quickly pulled this trigger on this shot
116A0127.jpg

Gehry building close up (85mm)

116A0115.jpg

Some funky monkey clouds; I'm not sure what was going on here. Probably a 4 or 5 second exposure.
116A0133.jpg

End on a Wide note

Cheers Steemians!
Michael

Sort:  

This is too cool! Just too cool!

Hahaha...thanks my man

You can learn some of the techniques in this tutorial I made on night photography: https://steemit.com/photography/@lightenup/urban-night-photography-tutorial

Will do, man. Will definitely do!

Congratulations @lightenup! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Demasiado Espectacular!!
Bellas imágenes @lightenup eres genial, me encanto tu blog

Mil gracias :) Eres una artista? No conozco Venezuela, pero estaba viviendo en Colombia hace 24 meses. Tenga buen día !!

@lightenup It is a wonderful way to capture the light of events given in microseconds, an art in which you trap time (which according to some experienced counselors in other dimensions ... there is no time) However, your post has captured the evidence, less of the light.

captured in 15-30 seconds

Wow, very nice! The parallel lines ones are awesome

hello, i like this post, i voted for you, i have followed you, hihi you, i have a private blog about coffee in steemit, maybe you like, i will share your opinion You will know there are many good things about my coffee blog, follow me, and vote for me, thank you, make a funny steemit.

I'm not sure what coffee has to do with my post, but thanks.

i`m sorry, i want give you information about coffee, but thank you, hihi :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71