Self Portrait Photography | Unexpected Journey Challenge

in #photography5 years ago (edited)


A few months ago I made a promise to myself to do things a bit differently, take big chances and step out of my comfort zone. I called it My Unexpected Journey. The goal is the help me grow as an individual by living life with no fear or regrets.. while also learning to be comfortable in my own skin.

One of the challenges on the list was to take self portraits... why? Because I hate taking photos of myself.. I mean really hate it.. even more I hate sharing them. So what better way to push myself out of my comfort zone? Also, I think portrait photography is lovely and the practice would help me be a better photographer in general. Plus, there seriously are no photos of me in existence and that’s kind of sad lol.

So today I played with some natural light and gave it a go.. my goal was a bit of a cinematic look.. but also no nonsense and natural.. just me.. trying not to be awkward (what am I suppose to do with my hands!?) ... sigh... anyways the other part of the challenge was to share them here with all of you.. because you guys are on this journey of self growth right along with me.. so... here are some of my favorites from today. I hope you enjoy;





Here’s to jumping out of your comfort zone!


Much Love,

Justine

Sort:  

Love the lighting! I know how you feel about self portraits...or the fact there is photographic evidence of my exsistance for that matter. Thanks being said I once 3D modeled my face and had to stare at myself for hours. It's hard to do but at least I'm more comfortable with what I look like.

Wow, yeah.. talk about getting comfortable with how you look! Lol.. man I can’t imagine having to recreate every small detail.. sheesh.

Thanks so much, I was really loving the lighting. And yeah.. some photos to prove we walked on the earth might be a good thing haha.

Maybe a few.

You go girl! Love it! Especially the one with the with the flower <3
I probably will have to push you more and more to continue doing self portraits. You are a natural!!!

(You still owe me a portrait with your horse :P and I will never forget that)

Haha! Thank you 🤗.. yes, I’m going to need you to constantly bug me to continue doing these haha. Thank you for your kind words and encouragement.. and yes yes.. I owe you some horse selfies!

If I had a face like that I would do nothing but take my own photo and hand out to everyone in Street and saying I'm gorgeous aren't I?

Posted using Partiko Android

🤣🙈 Hahahahah.. oh man.. well, thank you very much.. that is very kind ❤️

The girl in the cafe beatiful

Posted using Partiko Android

you are (insert synonyms for beautiful here).

somehow I never shared our "selfie" taken by gtg... now I know why

take care!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, thank you 🙈 Did I mention I am horrible at taking compliments too? Haha. Ohh I saw one of us with gtg somewhere.. I need to go around and collect all the photos!

hahah I think you did lol. Would be cool to see that one photo :)

take care!

Posted using Partiko Android

You have a beautiful smile, and I love the shots with the flower. :) Also, I celebrate your journey out of the comfort zone, especially when it means practicing loving yourself, in all the different ways! Really great.

Xx ToL

Wow thank you! I agree completely.. getting out of your comfort zone, learning to love yourself, and really just living life the way it was intended is so important I think. It’s been a fun adventure so far and I’m already seeing improvements in myself overall.. thanks for the wonderful comment, I really appreciate it ❤️

Very pretty

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you ☺️

Beautiful photos!
It was was nice meeting you at the end of SteemFest!

Hey thank you 😊
It was nice meeting you as well! Hope things are good

Nice ! We all have to face those uncertainties head on at some point. I like how you exited the normality of comfort, it most certainly makes us stronger 💪🏻 keep it up, my friend :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you!

Of course :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

love the lighting! these are great. so playful and you are beautiful :)

Awe thank you so much ☺️ 🤗
Yeah the lighting really helped me out here.. caught it at the perfect time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99