DEAR STRANGER...!

in #photography6 years ago

Dear stranger, you probably don’t remember me, but you found me crying in my green volkswagen cabrio. You were driving a black lincoln town car when you pulled up next to me at a red light on santa monica and sepulveda. You didn’t know that i had recently moved to los angeles from boston, carrying all my troubles with me, like a bag full of rocks. You didn’t know that i was cursed to constantly judge every decision. Cursed to never know the feeling of trusting myself. You couldn’t see the scars from memories i will never live again.

I glanced your way and saw you motion me to roll my window down. Trying to fight back tears, i put my bag of troubles on the passenger seat, and rolled my window down. The sun was setting, your eyes danced in the golden light, and i could tell you were kindhearted by the way time marked your face. With a warm smile, you told me, “everything will be okay.” and just like that, the light turned green, and with a wave of your time worn hand, you were gone.

I want you to know that you were right. Everything did turn out okay. I am a wife and a mother now and life is so good. I want you to know that i was going to leave los angeles and go back home to boston before you pulled up next me, kind words fluttering from your mouth.
Because of you, i followed my heart and stayed. Because of you, i stayed and met my husband. Because of you, i have three beautiful little souls, dancing around my ankles, in the same golden light.
I left some of the rocks from my bag of troubles on the corner of santa monica and sepulveda that day. Now i carry a lesser load because of kind words from a dear stranger.


Thanks for reading!



MY INTRO POST

Sort:  

From the beginnings of literature, poets and writers have based their narratives on crossing borders, on wandering, on exile, on encounters beyond the familiar. The stranger is an archetype in epic poetry, in novels. The tension between alienation and assimilation has always been a basic theme.

This is a long time memory, but actually every time I think about it, I secretly thank the stranger !!!

You got a 1.60% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lockent!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lockent from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @lockent, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 10539 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2139.47. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

The stranger painted the rainbow!

Your thoughts are beautiful, thank you !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27