London Street Art Tour! 🎨

in #photography7 years ago

London has some of the most iconic and varied street art in Europe.

I love wandering around my city and seeing how it is constantly changing like a perpetual canvas.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

In this post I will show you some of the great street art I have found , in the areas that have the most vibrant street art scenes- Camden, Soho and of course, East London.

Camden/ Kentish Town/ Mornington Crescent:

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

The styles witnessed in North London are very eclectic and seem to focus on international culture and identity.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

It's always exciting when you spot the style of an artist that you recognise in various areas of town 😊

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

And also a bit of a thrill when you see the creation of a new work first hand..

And there is always new art being added in Camden ⬇️

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Soho:

image.jpeg

It is interesting to observe the different styles of street art that inhabit specific areas.

For example, in Soho, the art seems very much to parody and critique modern culture and celebrity.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

The method of art here is a little different to the norm in London and incorporates poster art, stencils and stickers, much like the street art I've seen in areas of Paris.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

East London- Shoreditch, Hackney, Hoxton

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

A lot of art in areas such as Hackney seem to focus a lot on political & social commentary and modern global concerns.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

A lot of this area is quite industrial and depressing looking, but the immense amount of art work being added seemingly daily, has given this grim urban landscape a new lease of life.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

There are also lots of street artists creating temporary art work on the streets of the capital.

These are becoming more and more common and present a transient performative experience of art.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

So that is just some of the amazing street art I've encountered on my walks around this great city.

I just love how art is always being created here, making it a living and evolving canvas.

image.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did please upvote, comment and follow on @lolzwithlisa for more travel and veggie food posts 😊

What's your favourite city for photographing street art? Let me know in the comments!

xx

Sort:  

London street art is to cool for school lol I love it @lolzwithlisa if you are ever at Hoxton Market on a Saturday afternoon pop by and see me outside the poundland Shea Pureness @sheapureness great post.

Awesome, thank you! What a great spot to be in 😊

Amazing. I always try to take a pic of the street art i cross on my path. I might make a post of Buenos Aires street art one of these days.

Thanks so much! Oh you definitely should, I would LOVE to see that 😀 Always so interesting to compare the styles in different countries

Oh my God! Your post is a whole photo gallery! Excellent! 😍😘😗😚🤗🤗

Thanks hun, glad you like it 😀😀

INSANE!!! Seriously every pic I go through I'm like "This is crazy" and then it keeps getting better and better.
Your post is like an artwork of its own!

Thanks so much, so glad you liked it 😊 I know, it's crazy how good they are. So often I end up being late to wherever I'm going because I just have to stop to take pictures of insane street art I see heh

That’s some really amazing Street art

Hey! Thanks for checking it out 😊 I know right, we are lucky here in London- great art everywhere

Yes indeed, same where i work in NYC, I must do a graffiti post

Yes please do! I'd love to see that 👍🏻

I have some I will share in about 4 hours that I found while walking in Long Island City 👍😎

I have a whole bunch I took this week, just need to find the time to edit them and share :)

Sweet! Look forward to seeing them 😊

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75