Scott's Friday Photo - My favorite Leading Line // Lovejuice Minnow Promotion

in #photography5 years ago

160617 DM Scenic_119.jpg

Sawtooth Mountain in West Texas


As a photographer I look for ways to compose a photo, to make it more than just a snapshot of something I though was pretty. There are many techniques that you can use to do this, and one of the most common is the use of leading lines. The idea is to use a line to draw the viewers attention into the photo and lead their eye to where you want it to go. In this case a road.


As a travel photographer, I am naturally drawn to the road. In the photograph the road leads my eye into the scene to the interesting rock formation. But notice that the road does not lead directly to the formation. It leads past it, to the next interesting thing just over the horizon. That's the real attraction of the road. It takes me to somewhere interesting, but then it leads me away from that to the next interesting thing further down the road.

In a photograph, I can carefully choose my perspective and use the road to change the character of the photograph. In life the road that I choose changes me. While I use roads as leading lines to shape my photos, I also use them to shape my life.

Safe Travels
signaturescott.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lovejuice
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=scott-s-friday-photo-my-favorite-leading-line-lovejuice-minnow-promotion


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62