Poor me, pity me

in #photography6 years ago



Larch tree


Recently heard someone say “If no one pities me, then at least I pity myself”. How absolutely ridiculous is that? Instead of patting their back or tiptoeing around them treating them as fragile porcelain dolls, my reaction was to give them good whipping.  

It is manipulative, weak and utterly useless thing. It does not help anyone or any situation. Oh, poor little me. Look at this big, bad world I am up against. Please, carry me. Lift all my burdens, because I do not have strength to do so myself. Poor little me. Everything and everyone here is to hurt me and crush me. Carry me. Save me, poor little lamb. More miserable excuses for not getting your own shit together.  

Aren’t you just a special snowflake? That seems like looking for easy way out. Only person who can save you is you. Why would anyone put up with your constant whining, self loathing, self pity, self inflicted harm and slacking? Why manipulate others feeling sorry for you? Guilt them even into special treatment. Not like they have their own stuff to worry about? It is self sabotage at the very least. Stop it, stop it now!







Song of the day: Yelawolf - Devil In My Veins

Sort:  

How true. I think these kind of people are mostly attention seekers but some are just helpless and unfortunate personalities that need support. Endless support is not necessarily the best option either though.

Maybe indeed some of them need support, but some of them are endless voids. You pour and pour in them, but there is no change in their behavior.

That's true..

Anything I wanted to say has already been said my other commenters... My fault for being a slacker, arriving late! lol

I will say, though, that that second photo is a really great shot ^^

Oh I love me some self pity for an hour or so, once in a blue moon when I remember it :)

I'm sure we all do sometimes, but it does not help much, does it?

Well, as long as i don’t complain to others, it usually makes me think of how I can change the situation :) it’s kind of a part of the process I guess.

Hi m31. Love the way you think. Snowflakes and a good whipping. Think very similarly to you lol.

Sveiks @cryptoandcoffee! Ahaha. Just wanted to greet you in Latvian for some reason.

Little harsh. I know. Lol

Don't back track and become a snowflake now. What you said was not harsh but the truth. If they all received a good whipping the snowflakes would disappear hopefully.

Nah. No back tracking, hehe. Don't you think people have grown too soft lately? Specially younger generations?

Very much so. I hate to see them in a few generations time. They are over protected and pampered. We probably would come across as evil or something when we are normal.

You got a 29.62% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Love the images, gives me a sense of calm. Love the post even more. The hard truth is the only way anything happens and our new generation is exactly what the those who govern us want, needy and easy to manipulate.
I would swop the kicks life has given me for anything as it made me the man I am today. A patient, principled and applied man that helps those who are prepared to help themselves. Good on you mam, damn fine post and a good piece of music to round it off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00