You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: California Fires - 13 original images, Nov 8 2018

in #photography6 years ago

Are you a real American? Why do I "hear" whining all along? 😂

Kidding aside, it is very surprising to know those details from someone who is from the same place. From the other end of the earth, and I believe in other corners too, America is regarded as an "ideal" place to live with the American dream.

We've been and is still being hit by really bad inflation and I wonder how long will we go this way. Fares and prices of basic commodities are skyrocketing but salary rate is not moving. Among other may more problems...

Oh well, I wonder what we are supposed to do with our governments. I joined the second EDSA revolution that toppled our former president Estrada but solutions can not be protests on the streets everyday. Maybe we just play golf and have coffee afterwards. Those problems will be over tomorrow. 😃

Sort:  

Haha. Not a real American. My wife was born in Arizona, but she's an anarchist so I don't think that really counts either. They say I was born under a canadian flag but I have no recollection and I don't trust anyone. :)

If the American dream is to start a business and buy a house, then its over. Houses are $500K and wages $20 per hour. There is no way. Owning any business capable of even paying wages needs 250K to start and a couple inside connections. The only progress here is for the elites while everyone else scrapes by. Apples are $6/kg, people spend 2 weeks per month to pay rent then the government takes the next week's pay leaving barely enough to insure an old car.

Sounds like your Yellow team is like our Democrat team, and the Duerte is trying to shake out the rust. From here he seems pretty respectable, although I assume governments are kinda the same all over. Filling the pockets of their friends and giving commoners the stick. That he is cleaning up anything at all is pretty incredible, although I'm sure its much slower and less effective than anyone dared to dream.

I don't think we can do much with governments. They comfortably crush all opposition and the idea of rising against the power seems like a fool's errand. Pretty sure they'll take care of themselves and we will pick up the pieces later.

I don't believe the federal system is viable, too many small interest groups trying to prop up each other's small interest in this collective grab at the feed trough of government. We will never get power lines underground while the firefighter's union is in cahoots with the power company to co-opt the legislators. If we could have direct voting then maybe there'd be a chance, but its for sure that no one currently in power is going to let that start.

Fun chat. I followed your blog and need to check out the 3D printing of houses in your post. That future seems so much more functional than the fiasco that is the current building department system. Cheers!

They describe American dream to me as having a house, a car and a stable job. So maybe having your own business is a wish.

It looks like you folks are a fan of our president. I am not, with his way of governance. As I mentioned, inflation continues to go up but not the salary. Just now, I paid the minimum fare I knew which was already hiked from less than a year ago. But then I was asked we have another hike which took effect just today. Oh well.. And more things getting worse that I don't wanna keep whining about and stress over with. In contrast to your belief or trust to Duterte is your being against federalism. He's been trying to persuade people about that.

Those Steemhunt posts are helping me keep almost a daily post. Faster than sitting and think much of what to post... 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69379.42
ETH 3686.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29