BAMBARAYON: THE SEVEN-IN-ONE SOUL OF RICE | KOPISUNDUAN Series #04 |

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

When I started my research on the culture of the Kadazandusun tribe, I also began compiling whatever data and findings that I came across. 


I was at the same time very keen to listen to the many stories from the old folks especially at family gatherings and at cultural events.  As I started writing this article I realized that there are many stories about the SEVEN (7) numbers.  It has been quite fascinating for me to discover that there is so much more to learn of the mystical numbers than what has been generally acknowledged and told from generation to generation in the story of the Kadazandusun. 

For today's article, let me begin with the Seven-in-One Bambarayon (The Rice Soul).


 Photo source

Kinoingan thus sacrificed His only daughter so that the people could have food to survive on earth.  Her body parts were planted as seeds and these became the multi-purpose resource plants of the world.  Her flesh became red rice, and was perceived to be the most sacred of all.  Her spirit dwelled in the paddy fields and became the Seven-in-One Bambarayon - The Soul of Rice

Ponumpuan thus became Huminodun (The Transformed Sacrifice) in the context of Kinoingan, being the salvation of the Kadazandusun people. This is the mystical body of Bambarayon-turned-Huminodun.  Bambarayon being Ponumpuan or Huminodun is a constitution of the seven-in-one-spirit and they have their respective specific residential precincts within the mystical paddy plant such as;

  1. Son - guas
  2. Son - puun 
  3. Son - gi'ih
  4. Son - watu
  5. Son - putul
  6. Son - bilao

To understand better the Seven-in-One Soul of Rice, I have shared below a picture that I have copied from the book of Kaamatan by KDCA. Every part of the paddy plant, carries its own meaning.


During the course of the season, it is inevitable that some paddy is damaged and parts become separated and stray away and along with it the spiritual components of Bambarayon.  This can happen for many reasons; natural, accidental, plain or through violence and neglect.  Thus immediately after harvest, it is very important that after the Bambazon harvest, the mystical spirit should spread and to be collected by Shaman (Bobolian / Bohohizan).  So the tribe's Shaman (Bobolian / Bobohizan) perform the Magavau , Modsuut and Humabot ceremonies, travelling through the levels of the spirit world to rescue the severed and strayed parts of the rice soul (Bambarayon).  Intact, this ceremony is to ensure the next harvest is equally bountiful.  

For the rest part of the story, join me to appreciate the beautiful views of Sabah's paddy fields photographed by our young local talent Nelson Michael Jr. 

 The beautiful view of the paddy field terrace in the district of Tambunan, Sabah.  Photo Source 

Paddy field in Kota Belud district of Sabah with a stunning view of Mount Kinabalu. Photo Source

Before I sign off, reminiscing my childhood memories that make me who I am today and feel blessed to have the spirit of Bambarayon in me.

For the first 17 years of my life, the paddy field was my playground.  The sunsets, paddy field, mud, pipit (type of bird), koruk (type of fresh water fish) were my good friends.   This picture was taken behind my parent's house in Papar a few weeks ago.  


Thank you for visiting my blog and stay tuned for Series #05.


Love and light

@madeve 


Kindly visit KOPISUNDUAN Series #01, #02, #03 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you feel that my 23rd article and my effort has contributed to the educational views of the world, please feel to put your comment below or at least to upvote and follow me if you like.  I will appreciate all good comments as this will encourage me to keep on writing on socio-cultural and education that shall contribute towards the growth of creative industries and sustainable future of my people. 

Disclaimer: All writings are original scholarly works and proprietary. Please contact @madeve for the use of publication. 

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Nice picture and beneficial info for steemers about this community

Thank you and yeah that is the objective for this Indigenous Stories . cheers!

Keep going... Will be waiting for some more

Awesome! =)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Upvoted and followed.
Check out my daily Tarot readings if you are interested. I do not require an upvote for me upvoting your article. Just sharing my latest article if that is okay.
https://steemit.com/divination/@ladyreijya/daily-tarot-influence-for-09-29-2017

Thank you ladyreijya. I will drop by at your blog.

Let me know what you think! I also take requests for tarot readings for the daily tarot influence.

Wow.. that was pretty nice article you got there. It is worth reading. Upvoted you .

Thank you for visiting my blog. I've made my pledge to keep posting good articles. All the article I made my self, based on my personal experience working with my people here. Indeed it's worth reading. Let's stay in touch. cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62606.46
ETH 3024.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90