Lost & Found - Images from Wadi Rum and Petra, Jordan

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

jordan square3.jpg

I spent the summer of 2006 living and working in Florida as a part of a work and travel student program. My friend and I worked 2 jobs there during the weekdays, starting at 7 in the morning and finishing at 11 at night. On the weekends we worked 'freelance' as builders, painters, heavy lifters, tree surgeons (I know:) and whatever we could find.

But that's a separate story. In the end we managed to save just enough to pay back our parents for the actual program and the flights out there. With the little left over we treated ourselves to sneakers and one of these bad boys each.

ZFRONT.JPG

A Sony DSC S600 for around $150 as far as I remember. Packing the now laughable 6 megapixels it was a great photographic weapon for its time. I recently found mine and had the joy of finding a lot of images on its memory card. Some of those were from my trip to Jordan two summers later - 2008. I was pleased to see them and decided to share them here.

Here they are.

DSC03428cc.jpg
The iconic Treasury gate. Probably the most well known image of Petra.

DSC03325 copy.jpg
A camel rider sharing water with his bread earners.

DSC03434cc.jpg
Bedouin horse rider.

DSC03418cc.jpg
Young bedouin and his rides.

DSC03420cc.jpg
Hats off to this lady for casually smoking such a fat rollie. I ended up buying some of this 'tobacco' she was offering and to this day am not sure what it was. I was hoping it's weed but looked a lot thicker and didn't smell like it. After rolling myself one I took one toke and coughed for about 5 minutes before I puked. Class.

DSC0345cc.jpg
Bucketlist. The sunset at Wadi Rum. Truly AWEsome.

Thank you.

Z

Sort:  

Congratulations @makiaveli! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @makiaveli! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62