Mushroom Klondike

in #photography8 years ago

My husband and I recently were parents and collect mushrooms. The mushroom season opened this year.

18135f.jpg

2bbf48.jpg

37faf7.jpg

Follow me: @mama-steem

Sort:  

I would like to collect wild mushrooms, but I am afraid of accidentally getting a poisonous one.

Lolz!! My dad has a ranch in east Texas and I have been mushroom hunting. You must know which species you pick up to eat because the consequences could be fatal. I know that there are roughly 3000 species of mushrooms and only 60ish are deadly... With that being said, a third of those are found in pastures like my dads. So I will give my fool proof method when checking to see if they are edible or not.

  • Rule number 1: Never eat one if you can't identify the mushroom 100%
  • Rule number 2: Take spore prints
    • This is easy.. All you need is a solid glass ( non-transparent ), some tin foil or blank white paper , and the mushroom you're identifying.
      • Place the gills face down onto the paper or tinfoil with the cap facing upwards and place the cup over the mushrrom. Now come back about 30-45 minutes later and this is what you will have...

        Source

Also Beware of the LBM's ( Little brown mushrooms ). They are most commonly mistaken for pycilicyben cubensis but in fact very deadly.
Namaste~

When you take the spore print what do you do with it? Is there a website that has spore print pictures? Is there certain things you look for? How does that help you identify it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71398.11
ETH 3875.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51