The hunt series 2 - 😱Am I now a real Storm Chasers ? Supercell / Leibnitz 21.6.2018

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

You have probably wonder, why the f..k @marjanko didn't post anything yesterday. As you already know, I started storm chasing few weeks ago.

Here is the story that change my life.

Let me take you 2 days back. It was a Thursday ( 21.06.2018 ) and we got a forecast for potential super cell. It was 3:00 p.m. I called my friend Clemens ( long time storm hunter ), if the forecast is real. He looked up the satellite pictures and he said "we have potential for a huge storm ", so we must prepare our gear and wait for the storm to build itself.
Most of the time, the huge storms are created in the mountains. They are gaining power while lowering into the low area ( Steiermark ).

My first supercell
35973192_2138193242861641_2631978142494883840_n.jpg

5:00 p.m. still waiting.
5:30 p.m. still nothing.
6:00 p.m. getting nervous.
36225021_2138193706194928_1996414783317868544_n.jpg

6:30 p.m. looking good, but we still don't know what is going to happen. 6:45 p.m. It has began. The storm is coming down to the mountains, gaining huge straight. We must carefully follow the satellite radar, to see in which way the storm is headed.
7:00 p.m. I received the call from Clemens he was very excited, because the storm was coming into our direction. In 5 min, I was packed and ready for my second storm chase. He send me his location and I started driving. I saw the sky and it was black. The temperature was 30 degreese. Damn it was hot.

On the way
35855838_2134413439906288_6819123338250551296_n.jpg

I was still driving to the direction that Clemens gave me, but then he called I should turn the other way, because the storm is already there. We need to find other place to meet. He send me another location and told me I should be quick because the storm was realy fast. I put "my metal to the pedal". On the way, I saw huge clouds coming together. I didn't see the super cell yet, but I've seen the potencial. For experienced storm hunter this was a normal storm. Nothing special. For me, huge monster!
I was looking at the GPS and I was 5 min away from the location. Outside the temperature drops about 5 degrees and it slowly started to rain.
7:45 p.m. When I arrived to the location, rain stops and before me is the supercell. I saw the Clemens already unpacked and taking photos.

We didn't expect what will happen
36064437_2138212142859751_6709108365143834624_n.jpg

It was majestical. I parked my car on the field way and jumped out to take photos. I put my GoPro for a timelapse and the other camera to take raw. photographs.

A few moments later
36087694_2138194596194839_8244480060166242304_n.jpg

After 3 min of taking photos of the supercell. Booooooooom. Lightning strike. I had the honor and horror, to see the lightning strike about 15 meters (50 feet) away from us.
I froze.WTF just happend.
WTF
36137177_2138194659528166_2741810987513413632_n.jpg

In a blink of a eye. Really? You can't imagine how loud it was. I was shocked. I looked at Clemens and in a second we were in his car. Thankfuly we were alived. How the fuck did this happen. The storm was 5 km away from us. We quickly look at the radar and what we didn't see, another storm was building just above us.

Reality check.
36027524_2138194549528177_2313711221796241408_n.jpg

We decided to get away from the storm. On the way Clemens started feeling pain in his muscles and hard time to breathe. Luckily there was the hospital nearby.
To make a long story shot, we got away with a big ass warning and we are both ok. Because, Clemens was near the lightning strike he experienced headache, muscle spasms, chest pain. Stills some muscles spasms, but he is ok. Luckily. You can read about his experience: https://www.kleinezeitung.at/steiermark/chronik/5452024/Bei-Unwetter_Blitz-schlug-neben-Gewitterjaeger-ein_Er-musste-ins

WARNING
Lesson learned. Always check your weather radar!
36087355_2138194476194851_1739862737321721856_n.jpg

Will I continue storm hunting?
I gained a huge amount of respect for this storms that, I had before. I will be extra careful, because this was first warning.
I don't think there will be a second one!? What do you think?

Cam: Iphone, Sony a6000, Gopro (videos soon)
Lens: Sony 16-50mm

My first real storm hunt / supercell:
https://steemit.com/weatherphotography/@marjanko/weather-photography-the-hunt-series-supercell-in-austria-graz-12-6-2018-what-is-going-on-with-nature

All your support, will go for buying a new lens for weather photography, so I could bring you better photos and videos.

🍀Enjoy❤️Upvote❤️Resteem🍀

Sort:  

I would say: PLEASE STOP THE STORM HUNTING! Otherwise, who will post amazing macro photos on STEEMIT? I have got a best plan, you help me to hunt usurpers instead of storms, it's much less dangerous! =D

bitmoji-20180624091348.png

Thank you @flamingirl , would love to work on the project with you! This is way, this year, I'm coming to Barcelona!!!
About stormhunting,I had never in my life thought or image, that I will have interest about storm.
But then I saw clamens amazing photos and I didn't believe that , those photos are real. He is living in the same city, as I.Did make a contact and ask him if it's possible, to go with.
Then we made the first hunt.
Is hard to describe, this last moment before the storm hits.
I couldn't believe my oven eyes. I thought the world is going to end. No joke
And then the Cllemens told me ...ist not that big ...whhhaaattt
The colors,formation of clouds, the wind and the strength .... hard to describe...
But I will never go on the hunt alone...because i'm Not experienced. About macros, this is still my big love ;) Will try, to never stop, amaze you with my work!

Really great shots, awesome post @marjanko!

thank you very much for your support :)

Hi @marjanko, the photos are very beautiful, very impressive! I also have very recent experience of a huge lightning bolt right over my house here in the jungle. It was right overhead when it exploded . I actually jumped out of bed and my head felt like it would split in two! There was a tightness in my chest. It was the most intense experience of a storm I have had in my lifetime that is for sure! They are so dangerous I worry for your safety chasing storms but know you have a strong desire to capture these amazing photos! Stay safe!! ⚡️🌪

Hei, thank you , I think, I will never forget that night . That was a real shock ... and a life lesson - always check your radar :) Thanks once again !

Be Love. namaste 🌈

😱😱 that is so brave.. just be careful. Storm hunting was interesting, I wish I could do one 😇😁

Thank you ...from now on I need to be careful yeah... unfortunately that's not a game :)

Yes you're right 😳😇😇

Who ya gon'na call?

Stormbusters!

Title for the first image: "Young Zeus Incognito"

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, Jaichai

haha good one . Thank you and namaste ;)

Hello marjanko!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Nice Picture marjanko ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Nice Picture marjanko ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56