Storm Season in UK

DSC_0678-2STORM2.jpg

It’s a storm season again, and being lucky enough to have lived by a seaside for a few years, I have to say that storms are an occurrence that I’ve gotten used to, and although they can be a pain in the butt… they’re also exciting!

The strong winds, violent waves… there’s so much energy, it’s destructive yet, somehow beautiful. I’ve always been drawn to storms… I even have tornado chasing on my bucket list! :)
I’ve taken some photos of the harbour in a small Welsh town, I captured the violent waves to show what a storm day normally looks like here.

DSC_0779STORM5.jpg

I braced myself, in waterproof and windproof coat, and off I went, waves were spraying in my face, but I’ve manged to get some shots before the weather was making it too tough to keep my gear dry…

DSC_0747-horzSTORM4.jpg

I have to say that some days, it’s better not to come out from the house due to strong winds and piercing rain…. Yes, I remember walking up to my house one day, the rain was literally hurting my face as 80mph wind was blowing it directly at me…. I also was almost swept away by the strong wind, I battled with it all the way through as soon as I reached a door handle, I was not only exhausted, drenched, but absolutely freezing! The comfort of hot coffee, some snacks and favorite tv shows with warm blankets made my day after all that though….

DSC_0664STORM3.jpg

We also experience floods due to high tides….I have a few memories of that but I’ll save that for another post!
Anyway, I’ve managed to live in some wonderful places so far, I’ve lived near forests, and in the heart of a city- never thought I’d live by the sea!

_DSC8268STORM5.jpg
(Cheeky self-portrait before the storm)

Yet here I am, second time I’m placed near the seaside! And it’s wonderful! People in town seem to varnish around this time of year due to tough weather conditions…. But you guessed… I’m not one of those people…. I’m right there standing near violent waves having a great time…. I’m perfectly normal, I swear ;) I just enjoy the storms as much as I enjoy a beautiful sunset! It’s just a part of life :)

Hope you enjoyed this post!
Cheers,
Marta x

Sort:  

Good Information bro :)

All weather is good weather for seascape photography, if the wind is too strong just widen the tripod legs and hang a camera bag underneath. Lovley images, they capture the stormy mood perfectly.

I agree! I managed to get photos, but the biggest problem was keeping my gear dry as soon as torrential rain began, I had to stop :) And thank you :)

Great post.
Do you have more pictures? If you can post at least 12 pictures, then I can promote it.

I'm afraid that's all I have from this trip, but thank you :) x

Congratulations @martaesperanza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

gorgeous ! the first one stole the show ! :)

Thank you so much! :)

my pleasure :)

Congratulations @martaesperanza, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1925 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $865.81. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

You are great photographer, and your photos definitely have that ''something'' I am not sure if you are familiar with Bescouted platform since you are here on Steemit? It's photography platform conected with Steemit, each photo you uploud there is seen on Steemit and you get votes but more people can see your work there. Just a tip, hope you don't mind, just like your photos a lot.
Here is link https://www.bescouted.com/ and also you can check topic here - bescouted.

I wasn't aware of that site! I'll definitely have a look! Thank you for the tip and kind words :)

you are welcome, I am always happy to see good art :) and you make art :)

I like this post. Third series my favorite.
If you like, take a look at my profile :)

Congratulations @martaesperanza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Those are a beautiful picture. Amazing shots. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your kind words! Greatly apprieciated :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89