Life Lessons from the Universe - Manatee Sighting in South Florida

There’s no time to be bored in a world as beautiful as ours!


g0214908All images shot by Me, at Oleta River State Park in North Miami, Florida

I recently went kayaking in Oleta River State Park in North Miami, Florida with my son as a part of our new homeschooling adventures. It's a beautiful park with beaches, mountain bike trails, a skateboard pump track, camp grounds, fishing, paddle boarding, and of course kayaking! I was thankful that it was not too windy as my 9 year old was more in awe of his beautiful surroundings than he was willing to paddle. That's okay, this Mom workouts out!

1
Him, not paddling.

It was nice to paddle around some house boats, we are exploring that as an option in the future for a summer. Please let me know if you've ever tried this and how your experience was! I was hoping to see some dolphin in the bay but we saw a Portuguese Man-of-War instead!

Portugese Man-of-War

Although my arms were getting a bit tired I wanted to see if we could discover a bit more by exploring some paths that looked like a bit of a challenge. We literally had to do the limbo under some extending mangroves with kite-spider webs to wiggle down this part of the rive. We make it pretty far out into the quiet waters just far away enough to quiet the loud drunken laughs from the Spring Breakers.

g0064757
It was beginning to become a bit creepy at this point.

Just as I was turning the kayak around to head back in I saw a large, light colored object, floating up toward the surface. I was so excited and was happy we finally got to see some different wildlife!

g0184876Getting closer!

g0204904 2

The circle grew larger and larger. Then it came closer and closer. I have to admit, at this point I was getting a bit nervous! I initially thought it was a turtle but as it's size grew so did my anxiety! I was SO happy to see it was a friendly manatee. This guy was so massive yet his gentle demeanor pervaded the air. He, or she, genuinely wanted to play with us! He spun around, rolled on his side, and ever so gently nudged our boat each time pausing to make eye contact almost begging to be pet - just like my dog does!

g0224917He appeared to have a fungus of some sort on his head.

This experience was a reminder from the Universe that if you are willing to go to the places that no one else will, you’ll be able to experience what no one else does. Today we took the path less traveled!

g0214908



Thank you for reading and commenting!


Check back daily for more# health, #lifestyle, and #nutrition tips you can apply to your life ! You'll optimize your life and will be going Full Steem Ahead in no time!

Sort:  

Surely you did had some great time in South Florida
Wish I could visit a place like this someday because I am just so bored at my location

Oh no @mickyscofield ! Why are you so bored at your location? Where are you from? It's crazy sometimes that I literally live 5 minutes from the beach but don't visit very often. It is definitely something I take for granted! Growing up here I know I take a lot of this convenient weather and beauty for granted- something I'm going to stop doing and enjoy more often!

From Nigeria
Nothing seems to be working
Everything is just boring...no friend, nothing at all
Steem has been a consoling zone for me

Well it is smart of you time find a outlet and make it a positive one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71