Another Father's Day Without My Father

in #photography3 years ago

It's hard for me to believe that there have been 11 Father's Days without my dad. In truth, this week is going to suck because it's very close to the anniversary of his death.

I still grieve. Most days are better than others. It's strange how a certain scent, sound, or memory randomly pops up and I miss him so much that I feel my heart shrivel up a little because he isn't there to fill the space.

Meredith Loughran, merej99, John Buley

But all is not grief

One of my sons is now a daddy to a beautiful little girl and I hope that he gives her all the love, support, and care that was given to me. My father taught me so many things: humor, work ethic, kindness, honesty. He loved us unconditionally.

Meredith Loughran, merej99
My granddaughter

It's all I could have ever asked for.
He wasn't a perfect man, but he was a perfect-enough dad.

I hope my granddaughter feels the same way about her daddy when she's older.

This life journey is full of blessings and challenges. Embrace the good. Accept the bad. Find a way to overcome the hurdles. Do good things.

Happy Father's Day to all who fill the position, whether by blood or bond.


Connect with Meredith
https://www.linktr.ee/raginavc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93