PHOTOGRAPHY: Macro Of Snails In My Garden

in #photography6 years ago

snail.jpg

SNAILS

They are gastropods that have coiled shell that protects them from their outside world. The shell is large enough for them to immediately retract into when being attacked or when external forces make them go hiding inside. The word snail is the common name for a mollusc.

snail 2.jpg

They can be found in every garden especially after the rain when everything is wet. Although they are less harmful than the slugs, they could also kill smaller plants. The slugs on the other hand are the ones that are very devastating since an overnight attack can kill a plant. The last winter had been very hard... so I hope the slugs won´t come this season.

snail 4.JPG

I found these two snails on the leaves of the wild vine, the one is as big as my thumbnail and the smaller one as big as my smallest finger nail. They sometimes climb up my tamarisk tree trying to reach the two hanging fuchsia on its branches. When I brought home some of the wildflowers I picked last Sunday, there were some newly hatched snails and I just simply put them on the ground.

There are some varieties of the snails that can be eaten.. As a young girl, we oftentimes went to the rice fields that were full of rainwater and gathered some since they all surfaced on top after the rain. It was an easy thing to do and we went home with plastic bags full of them. My mother would cook them and my brothers enjoyed since it is a delicacy. The type that we gathered were bigger ones with dark brown or black shells. Here in Vienna I heard that there is a specific large size, a slug-like variety that can be eaten, cooked and eaten with a vinaigrette or garlic sauce.

snail 5 - Kopie.jpg

How about you? Do you eat snails? If yes, what type and how do you cook them?

Source reference : https://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snail

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Camera: Photos 1 & 2 were shot using Samsung J5 with a macro removable lens I attached to the phone camera. For Photos 3 & 4 , I used Canon EOS 1200D with macro extension lens.

Footer.gif
Thanks to @gremayo for providing the GIF

Sort:  

Wow, it's a beautiful snail.Excellent capture also.Thanks for sharing with us.

Thank you.

Yeah i eat snails, during the time with grandma, she gathered snails from the rice fields and cooked to us, she sauted it in garlic, ginger and sometimes with coconut milk..

Sounds a delicious recipe.... thanks for your lovely comments, reminds me of those good old days.

Nice shots! Our snails here have more pointed shells.
I have tasted the ginataang kuhol. 😍

It´s a funny thing,.... I love cooking them although I do not eat them because I do not eat sea foods at all. My cousin who is a great cook tested me and made a tortang talong with crab meat. I immediately knew it and just one bite and that was it... nawagtang ang kagutom!LOL!

I love snails.wla akong makita nyan dito sa manila

Ibang snails kasi ang nandyan... dito kasi hindi masyadong mainit... pero sa mga palayan sa atin marami lalo na kapag umulan. Yan yung mga puedeng kainin...

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Thank you for the upvote and for visiting.... followed.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Thiiisss is so cooollll!!! I love macrophotography and this one is amazing only using Samsung J5, we see the details of a snail! Cute ^^ BTW, I've never eat snail yet. :O

I haven´t either because I do not eat sea foods and the like...Thanks for dropping by.

i loved eating snail mam, specially ginataan ... :)this is very popular in Bulacan!!!

different color of snail is looking beautiful,really macro photography.Speechless,Photography of different styles,Superb collection.Thank you for sharing, so beautiful many of them

Thank you Maxine, glad you liked the images.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11