My entry for GREEK STEEMIAN CONTEST #1: Photography week

in #photography7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians!

I'm not much of a photographer. But since my fellow countrymen are running an all-Greek contest to promote @greek-trail, I thought it might be a good chance to post a photo. Why not, right?

Ok. So here it is...

IMG_5709.JPG

This is in Lakos area in Heraklion, Crete. During the interwar period this was the area where all the brothels and hashish joints were. Singers of folk songs called rebetes used to hang out in these joints. They sang of poverty and love and passion, something like the bohemian artists. So this is a mural of such a company. Notice, however, that although the "official" instrument of the rebetes was the bouzouki and baglamas, in this mural they are playing lute and Cretan lyre. They were in Crete after all.

Why did I select this photo? Well, it's not like I have a big collection! Like I said, I'm not much of a photographer. But also this mural is like it's opening a door to the past. Now that, in addition to the way the light is captured in this photo, makes these figures appear almost angelic. Shadows of the past that have finally found peace.

I don't know... There's something about this photo, or perhaps it's my affinity to the place where it is, but it does something to me and I wished to share it.

Sort:  

Beautiful shot, they do seem almost angelic...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65345.02
ETH 2944.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76