Found negatives from 1900s - What's the story behind these spooky old photos?

I can't remember what I bought at the antique store years ago (a book or a purse?) but inside I found an envelope with these negatives. I finally got around to scanning them and what a interesting find. Kind of creepy but mostly curious.

What is the story behind these people?

Photo from unknown

At first I thought the tall man was holding a dead baby. But in the other shots of the woman it appears to be alive (thankfully!).

Photo from unknown
Photo from unknown
Photo from unknown
Photo from unknown
Photo from unknown
Photo from unknown
Photo from unknown

Sort:  

Me too...thanks for looking. I have always had a fascination with the subject matter and try to put myself inside the image. What was the temperature like? What is hot? The sound of the gravel under their shoes as they walked...I feel like if I stare the images long enough they come alive in my mind. Hey, I'm an artists...that's how my mind works!

An old photograph is a time machine !

Indeed! I love time travel. My father has taken many photos and slides over the years. Recently I was bequeathed the job of scanning all his old slides and negatives. There were family photos I had never seen before nor had they even been printed! So cool. The color slides from the 50's era are so warm and saturated. I'll post a few eventually. Hopefully, Steemit's posting interface will get more user friendly soon. ;-)

We will wait for your new photos about the past.Good luck to you :)

When we saw someone s old photo , time took us somewhere far away , there we imagine their lives.
Thank you

yes, you're welcome! I feel the same way, slowwalker.

There is something spooky about old photos like this. You should see if you can find out online who these people are. Maybe you can connect with descendants and find out the real stories behind them. Anyway it is a fascinating glimpse into the past.

Thanks for looking, yes, I would love to know more about them. I have no idea who they are, obviously...I think it would be an impossibility to ever find out but...who knows? My father said it looks like they're in Yellowstone National Park but that's about as far as we got. ;-)

I want you to be everything that's you, deep at the center of your being.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.94
ETH 3807.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52