Beach Bugs - Dragonfly and black grasshopper

in #photography6 years ago

I took these images in Crescent Beach, FL last week. The bugs there were different than the ones I'm used to seeing here in Alabama.

The dragonfly rested on top of the twig for a couple minutes and let me get my shot. I tried several angles, and I like this one with the huge empty blue sky cut diagonally by the twig, which places the dragonfly at a rule of thirds/golden ratio spot of significance. I hope the twig also serves to draw your eye across the frame and to the dragonfly.


DSC01895-1.jpg


I crammed the grasshopper down in the corner of the frame in a desperate attempt to not be a rule-of-thirds robot, and to try for a minimalism feel. I also want the viewer to think about the grasshopper jumping, and I hope leaving lots of negative space in front of him might achieve that.


DSC01923-3.jpg


Sony A7s II
Sony 24-240mm at 175mm, 134mm
1/250 sec, 1/320 sec
f/8.0
ISO 125, 400


Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

You can get in touch with me at my website mikemacintire.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75