Doggie photos with my new Sony A7s II!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I normally shoot with a Canon SL1 (APS-C) or 6D (full frame), but I was so impressed with the Sony A7s II's low-light performance that I picked one up and I'm selling the 6D! I've only been playing with my A7s II for a day, but I'm definitely excited about its high-ISO results and what it will mean for my photography. My Canon SL1 gets pretty noisy at just ISO 800, and my 6D only gets another stop or two before it starts looking noticeably noisy. A couple shots below show that the A7s II can produce relatively clean images at least as high ISO 25600.

I'm also playing with the 'focus peaking' setting where the pixels that are in-focus show up as bright colors on the camera's LCD screen. It helps you tell whats in focus for quick manual focusing. It's really fun!


This one of Puppy was taken at ISO 25600, and I'm pleased with the results! The colors aren't quite right, but I that's mostly due to the mixed light sources.

DSC00539-1.jpg


Here's Kalei! This one is just ISO 400.

DSC00517-1.jpg


Here's The Bean. This one was taken at ISO 10000 in APS-C mode. The A7s II can switch to crop-sensor mode for lenses that are designed for sensors of that size. ISO performance isn't quite as good in crop-sensor mode, but it still looks really good compared to my Canons!

DSC00150-1.jpg


This one of our happy Molly-dog was taken at ISO 160.

DSC00453-1.jpg


Sony A7s II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 STM prime


Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

Sort:  

@mikemacintire
Good content
Keep sharing good posts!

Did Judd tell you about this one? He tried to get me to buy it lol.

Haha, yes! Judd was kind enough to let me use his A7s II at PorcFest for a bit, and I was sold!

I knew it ;) PS sorry for the delayed reply, but I don't get notifications that I have posts to reply to anymore. Not sure why.... :/

Great pictures. I also love dogs (we have2- a Dalmatian and a toy poodle). They make great subjects for photography (when they are still long enough)!

Very nice click
Stunning camera
Thumbs up for your sony📸📸📸👌👌👌👌👌👍

Thank you! It's a great camera!

Those dogs will also be very cute when you only has an camera from the 6ties. The animals are nice, sweet and seems they like to be a model. Good job done as photographer as well

Nice upgrade - are you planning on using it for video as well?

I am super new to video, but yes! I'll be sure to post something here sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61410.76
ETH 2867.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61