Framing makes your photo more interesting.

in #photography6 years ago

Hello dear steemians! Today, I wanted to talk with you about framing in photos. How I framed some of my photos with few examples.

If you are into photography, you probably know about few rules that has. But, rules are meant to be broken so feel free to do whatever you want. One of the best rule that you should consider using it is to always make composition that will draw viewers eye.

I'm gonna talk about framing when you are taking photos as a tourist, something like snapshots but taken to the next level. I'm not a professional photographer, I'm still learning photography and photography is endless learning process. If you love photography, you will never be bored of learning new things and adopting them.

Here is what I wanted to show you as an example.

This is perfect example of making your photo more interesting. This photo I took recently when I was on vacation in Budapest. You can see that I wanted to take photo of statue of Zrínyi Miklós. To be honest, this first photo is boring and typical tourist photo. I didn't liked framing of this photo because it is taken vertical and as you can see sky is dull, there is not any clouds that will fill framing. What can we do better? I will show you in second photo. :)

IMG_7340.jpg

By moving few meters and finding some tree branches it made this photo more interesting. You can see that there is no boring sky, it's filled with tree branches that gives much better exposure of photo. Result is much better than in first photo.

IMG_7336.jpg

Conclusion is to find something that will fill up frame of your photo and not make it boring and dull.

This is second example. Sometimes you need to wait for perfect moment. This photo will be boring without this ship in the foreground. Only water without any detail is just imperfect photo for me. It wasn't time consuming to take this photo because every few minutes some tourist ship will pass trough.

IMG_7450.jpg

Sometimes you need to crop your photo. This is example of cropped photo. Original aspect ratio of this photo is 4:3 but I had to crop it to 16:9 because there was a lot space that wasn't interesting at all, and that was sky. Sometimes you will not be able to fill frame up with something so you need to crop it a little bit.

IMG_7474.jpg

This photo was taken in HDR and edited in Photoshop for making it pop. You can see that foreground is uninteresting and there is some ship that really ruin this photo. This was a little bit of time consuming photo to edit. First, I took this photo in HDR by doing some exposure bracketing in my camera. Making first photo over exposured, second normal exposured and third under exposured and combined it with Lightroom to make one HDR photo.

IMG_7490-HDR-2.jpg

Next thing to do was removing ship from foreground with Photoshop by using "clone stamp tool". That process was fast, just take some clear sample of water and replace ship with it. If you have ever used Photoshop then you know what I'm talking about. And the final thing was to add some reflection of building. That is little bit of complex task to do to make it more realistic, I will make some tutorial for that.

I think that final result stands more out that first photo but I needed much more time to make it nice, but it was worth it.

IMG_7490-HDR.jpg

I hope you learned something from my post. Have a nice day! :)

Sort:  

Hello @miroslavrc, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Amazing photography. I like this picture because it is very clear, clean ad beautiful. Nice editing. Good job bro>

Thank you very much. :)

very nice editing!! 👍 👍. I want to learn, How to edit photos in photoshop. I don't know anything about it!! Where do you upload your content? do you have YouTube channel?

Thank you. I will post some tutorials here on steemit, in writing format. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43