Juggling photography?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

There are more and more people who shoot juggling with their camera.
I also started shooting jugglers with my film camera in 2012.

Scan-160419-0023.jpg
(Juggler Emil Dahl and me, shot on Bronica SQ with 135 film back by me)

It's bit silly to shoot juggling with film camera to be honest... limited ISO, shuttler speed and with the risk of getting whole blank roll of film after hours of shooting.

I have met quite a lot of people who think shooting juggling is not easy.
Kurt Skoog, a video grapher from Ostersund in Sweden was one of them.
Scan-160412-0043.jpg
(Kurt and Ameron, shot on Bronica SQ by me)

I met him in 2016, when I visited a juggler Ameron Rosvall in Ostersund for shooting.
Kurt is working on a documentary of him.

He said filming juggling is not easy, especially framing.
The object goes up really high, and jugglers normally stands straight in order to focus on juggling.

So if you try to fit the jugglers and objects in a frame, there are too much empty space around them especially when you shoot land scape not portrait.

So here is google search again.
I typed in "juggling photograpy".

Let's see how people compose juggling photography.
Screen Shot 2018-01-29 at 11.17.08.png

As you can see, lot of the photos are portrait and people also put some effects to it.

  • slow shutter speed to visualise the movement of the hands and objects
  • shoot from above or below to compress the height
  • Use bigger object like umbrella to fill the frame
  • Use some sort of decollation like some nice back ground, costumes, and dancer’s collaboration.

Or straight forward juggler photo on eye level.

If you are shooting jugglers, how would you shoot?
or if you were a juggler, how do you want to be shot?

000110.JPG
(Juggler Wes Peden shot on Fuji disposable camera by me)

Sort:  

I like what you got. Looking forward to seeing more juggling photography.

Thank you! I'm glad you are interested :)

Beautiful photos misaki! I used to have a bronica etrs, smaller than the SQ I think, and its one hot medium format.

Again love your composition and theme!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58