Harpa in Iceland -- Photo of the Day #1

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I wanted to get a start on the platform by sharing a photo from my camera album every day for the next few weeks. So here goes it.

Photo of the Day #1

Harpa in Iceland
[ Specs: f/8, 1/60 ]

I took this shot on my first trip to Iceland last year at the Harpa Concert Hall/Convention Center. Here's some stuff I learned when I was there:

  • The name is believed to come from a period of revitalization and new growth in spring. Many people see this to be symbolic for the nature of Harpa's construction, as as one point it was maybe the only building being built during the economic recession in Iceland.
  • It was originally destined to be part of a massive World Trade Center complex, but when that failed during the recession, lots of government money went to Harpa to make sure it actually got finished.
  • Now, the whole bay/harbor area surrounding Harpa is under construction and the city of Reykjavik is alive with so many cranes all over again as if nothing ever happened.

Thanks for checking out my post. I hope you liked it, and let me know if you want to see more or if you have any recommendations for my posts.

Hey you there!

Check out some of my other recent posts and hit them up with an upvote if you enjoy:

My post about the London Tower Bridge and Budget Traveling
https://steemit.com/photography/@mistakencynic/london-tower-bridge-photo-of-the-day-2

Harpa in Iceland and the history of a symbolic building
https://steemit.com/photography/@mistakencynic/harpa-in-iceland-photo-of-the-day-1

Sort:  

Great one! Keep sending...loved it! Congrats!

Congratulations @mistakencynic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68279.01
ETH 3694.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65