Sunset Isla Mujeres (The Isle of Women)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Isla_M.jpg

I remember hearing a tale by a local fisherman back in 2005 when I took my first trip to Isla Mujeres Mexico. Isla Mujeres (pronounced "eezla moo-hair-ez) is just a 25 minute ferry ride from Cancun Mexico and totally worth a goal for your bucket list.

The fisherman was of Mayan/Mexican descent and spoke both languages. I do not know if this story is actually factual but I believed him.

When the Spanish Armada eventually explored the Caribbean they eventually came upon this small island off the coast. What they noticed was that the indigenous Mayan woman had small canoes and had paddled over from the mainland. The women were mostly naked as well. Supposedly the lookout in the crows nest yelled to the captain in spanish, "es una isla de mujeres!" Translated: It's an island of women!

I'm fairly sure the captain issued orders to have the island thouroughly searched but this is unsubstantiated. However the name stuck... Isla Mujeres (Isle or Island of Women).

received_10156100016742427.png

U5dsaoxy_DJQTVE2_DMMGkzj_DNPD4wq_Wx_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

very beautiful moment you capture in your photography

Thank You very much glad you enjoed it.

i love hearing local legends and tails from other cultures its probably one of the main reasons i watch the history channel. the story's that have been past on through generations are so amazing and have a huge impact on the culture. i cant wait for the day i can travel the world and talk to local people from hidden places to hear all the legends of our world

I'm glad you enjoyed my post. All history fascinates me and I try to talk to the elders of anyplace I've traveled for old tales. After I heard this one I felt a grain of truth in the story. I hope to hear more of them in my future travels.

I have Isla Mujeres on my list for when I go to Mexico. Happy to see it being promoted so well!

If you do make it... remember this place - Playa Norte "North Beach" You'll fall in love and never want to leave. I plan on making more posts on this area known as the Riviera Maya.

Duly noted! Yes please. Mostly of people just think about Cancun!

It's beautiful

Glad you like the photo

A picture makes me happy. good pic.

Muchas Gracias - Thank you very much

This is brilliant !! Nice shot my friend !!

Glad you liked the photograph

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57