Bone Yard

in #photography6 years ago

We are getting ready to clean out the boneyard and sort through the 200 or so different bones we have cleaned over the years. It’s a strange hobby to some, but we love trekking through the woods and stumbling across nature’s gifts to us. I actually prefer the bones to a moccasin or rattlesnake.

5DCE6CD4-2BE8-4569-9CD9-E53C90F77B98.jpeg

After they are cleaned properly and bleached by the sun, it’s time to make sculptures out of them. Others get painted or used to decorate a garden bed. The only problem with sculptures is that the squirrels chew on them either for calcium or to grind down and sharpen their teeth. They were never really ours to begin with so it’s just more of nature at work.

2A313374-F3A8-433E-A532-D4431482A34A.jpeg

5079392B-0934-459A-AC1C-F6FDC95F820E.jpeg

Sort:  

Come by and pick up a few critter skulls, sit a spell and I’ll put the coffee on😉

Oh that's awesome.... I found this little gem in Lake whales while I was visiting my bestie for her baby sbower..
image
I am not too sure what animal this is but it was right by a lake!!!

Looks like a little gator and somebody took the head. There are so many around here. Cool find! 🐓🐓

Probably... thanks.. yes there are tons around. Definitely no shortage...

howdy on this fine Friday mother2chicks! ya'll have some strange hobbies down there! lol. no actually it's pretty cool to use those bones in that manner, you recycle in a way that is totally natural. And I would definitely prefer the bones to the live ones you mentioned!

Have you any photos of the sculptures? I would love to see some! I love the idea of using things that you find in nature to decorate the yard or house. I am forever bringing stuff home...

Not yet my friend. Got to get a couple of rods to drive into the ground. It’s fun to get them out and rearrange them. I am glad you take a few minutes by the beach to put your thoughts in order. ❤️🐓🐓

Cool hobby! Any pictures of things you've made in the past?

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @nateonsteemit

We have planted already 3305.40 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19480.87
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This is very interesting. Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75