The Red-Spotted Purple Butterfly

in #photography6 years ago

I was fortunate yesterday to capture photos of this Red-Spotted Purple butterfly in a sandy area near the porch. I have tried on a number of occasions to photograph this beauty, but it has eluded me for two years. Finally I was able to get the photos. Florida has so many wonderful butterflies!


7B691516-98C4-4017-94A7-69EBC41DF914.jpeg


The red-spotted purple is a beautiful suburban woodland and forest butterfly. Also known in fancy terms as the Limenitis arthemis astyanax. Once thought to be quite rare in North central Florida, they began mating with a butterfly in Georgia known as a Viceroy butterfly. The result was a hybrid which resulted in increased populations of this beauty.

Adults like to feed on tree sap, fermenting fruit, or “dung”, but they do occasionally take nectar from flowers, and drink from mud puddles.

Source for additional information

Guess why I was able to get such great shots of this elusive red-purple, it was feasting on chicken poo. I got lots of that here at “Fuss & Feathers” homestead!


528E0800-D5B5-434B-818B-94D1F236820D.jpeg

Photos taken by @mother2chicks 2018


681699F7-B3AD-4878-905C-038706DD3FC0.jpeg

Sort:  

Fantastic photos! I'm so glad you got to take some pictures this year! I saw one of those last year in Dallas and took some pictures!

I love blue butterflies 🦋 💙

there she is! howdy back mother2chicks! howya doin?
well, I think this butterfly photo may be worth the wait because it's stunning!

A goal realized after two years is quite the accomplishment! It is a beautiful butterfly too! I love the red spots on the tips of the wings. It's awesome your chickens are bringing other types of nature around.

That is a beautiful butterfly :)

Beautiful!

Wow i have never seen one yet. I too live here in Florida, and i love butterflies so much that i make wings out of polymer clay and hand paint them, to make my jewelry. You have inspired me to try and mix up some colors. Thank you. Here is what ive made in the past from other real butterflies.

20180702_135030.jpg

She's absolutely gorgeous... curious enough I found you through @poeticsnake and I'm writing a post about the symbolism of blue butterflies, kind of synchronicity so followed, you are obviously a Nature lover... :) She's gorgeous, real life fairy, makes me want to paint her

Abbi and I got lost for a bit. We are back under this new handle. I messed up and could not get password to work. Starting from scratch.
Love

Love the photo

You still kickin around, chick? You haven't been posting much lately...Just checkin on ya 😉

Hey Bandit, yeah still here. Dragging around the property in this heat. Should be on her communicating, but my priorities are messed up. Trying to help a friend get started on steemit. Just appreciate you checking on me. 🐓🐓

I completely understand! Sometimes life takes over and certain things have to be placed on the back burner. Just a few days ago I wrote about the same kind of butterfly bonding with me. Reckon it's the same one? Lol mine has a battle scare on its wing. But it's still a cool coincidence that we both had encounters with the same species of butterfly.

![20180911_141757.jpg]
()

20180911_141854.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63700.42
ETH 3084.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83