Improve Your Photos With 1 Simple Trick.

in #photography6 years ago

I'm the owner of Cherished Studios, a little photography studio in Toowoomba, Australia. Before I was a photographer, I was just a Mum, just trying to take better photos of her kids. I've obviously come a long way since then and want to share some of my knowledge with those wanting to improve their own photography. So, I'll be sharing a few basic tips over the next week or so.

My biggest tip is to really pay attention to your lighting! When we're fiddling around with settings or trying to get our subjects into the position we want, it's easy to forget to check what our light is doing, particularly outdoors. You've probably heard of shooting in the "golden hour", and sure, that makes for some incredible soft light. But what if you NEED to shoot in the middle of the day? Here's how you do it.

Cherished Studios Family Photographer Toowoomba-5.jpg

Do the circle check. Have your subject stand where you want them, and then walk around them in a circle whilst they turn with you. Pay attention to how the light is hitting their face. This is my biggest tip for being able to shoot at anytime of the day. It is very possible to shoot in direct sunlight, using this trick.

Avoid having your subject facing into the sun, rather have the sun at their back. This way, the light will drape around them without having any of those harsh shadows and highlights on their face. This is the single biggest thing you can do to improve your photography right now. Even lighting on your subjects face is the goal you want to achieve.

Let me know what you're struggling with in your photography. Is it composition? Other lighting tips? Getting off auto mode? I'd love to be able to share some tips and tricks, so let me know what it is that YOU want to learn.!

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @mrscannon, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Thanks for the advice! I'll make sure to use it next time I take a picture or when I finally get a professional camera :P Could you take a look at my most recent post? https://steemit.com/happy/@matheuse/the-reason-you-re-unhappy-ft-the-solution

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67803.71
ETH 3800.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66