50 Days Of Grey Part I: Day 1 - Gimme Shelter

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I live in Niigata, Japan. It's a city known for rice, sake good seafood and at one time an island filled with gold. Well, those days are long gone, but one thing that never left was the gloom.

Here is your personal invitation to join me on a daily hunt for gloom. Today, a watershed moment in Niigata photo history, we embark on our first 50 days of capturing the gloominess of Niigata. Luckily for us, Niigata is filled with Grey days, so the first 50 days will merely be the first of many installments.

Follow me as I brave the treacherous landscape, hunting for the grey-filled skies and landscape that everyone so desires to witness. Now, you can from the comfort of your home!

But why @musingsltd, why?!

Well, maybe you are having a bad day and/or miserable so you want to see gloomy pictures that match your mood. Maybe life is dark and not of your friends get that. Maybe your life is so good and you just want to watch others wallow in their misery. Whatever the reason, it doesn't matter. Just enjoy what has been and will be laid out before you.

And today's picture:

Gimme Shelter

shelter.JPG
-taken by @musingsltd

I felt "The Shelter of Your Arms" by Sammy Davis Jr. was a fittingly somber song for the start of 50 Days of Grey


A little background on 50 Days of Grey

So, I was born and raised in Washington State. I know, I know, the heartbeat and gutter of America, right? Oh, no wait, you're thinking of the nation's capital. No, I'm from that top corner area next to the west coast of Canada. Anyhow, we have a ton of rain every year. Or, so I thought.

I wondered if I was growing soft as I crept into my adulthood. It just felt like Niigata was darker than what I was accustomed too, and that was crazy to think. So, I did a little research and what do ya know?

Niigata, Niigata Japan

Amount of PrecipitationDays of Precipitation
72 inches184 days

Seattle, WA USA

Amount of PrecipitationDays of Precipitation
34.1 inches152 days

Oh, thank God. I'm not getting soft.

You may be thinking, "Hey 184 days of rain, that ain't so bad." How about this for good measure:

Niigata Average hours per day of sunshine

JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
234676575532

Nope- not much sunshine to speak of.


@musingsltd is just a dude living in Japan, which has been his home for the last four years. His goal is to share his cultural insights about Japan and America with readers from both countries, creating a bridge of understanding between his two homes. He also blogs sports, terrible gambling insights, draws comics that lack art in every sense of the word and gives unsolicited advice. Why not kick your reservations to the curb and fellow the guy, huh?


Woke AF charts were created by @musingsltd and information for said charts was found at:
Seattle Data
Niigata Data


Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed it please like, follow and share.

Sort:  

This post has received an upvote (1.3$) from the @lrd bot.
To use the bot simply send an amount between 0.1-1 SBD with the link in the memo.
You will receive 130% of what you sent.

Oh my god dude. Those charts are depressing. Had no idea it was that intense. Have been really feeling it lately, and wondered if I was getting soft too.

I’ve been thinking it’s just one of those “distance makes the heart grow fonder” moments and if I was back I’d realize Niigata wasn’t so gloomy - but now, I dunno. It’s probably pretty close to the same in reality when taking into account the summer rain season. The lack of hours of sun per day was pretty wild to see though

Despite the doom and gloom, with its beaches, rivers, rice paddies and endless mountains, Niigata is a reasonable spot for landscape photography, don't you think?

Looking forward to the rest of your pics.

I certainly do. I give it a hard time but I love the place. In fact, there is a spot from a mutual place we work, in the mountain there is always what looks like an upside down why where a heavy line of snow falls. Have you ever noticed it? That will be an upcoming picture I think.

Know it well. Beautiful spot, looks like its been carved out of the mountains intentionally. Should make a good addition to your collection.

Hey @musingsltd , I just was thinking this place is like the Seattle of Japan, but dude, I lived in Seattle, nothing beats it's gloom, nothing! I absolutely know why Kurt offed himself all those years ago, I almost did up there!

Anyway, not sure if you are coming out tonightt, but would be good to meet you and share some stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67488.06
ETH 3761.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56