50 Days of Grey Part I: Day 4 - Hazelnut Coffee and a Dirty Life

in #photography6 years ago

50 Days of Grey - December 15, 2017

A Niigata Weather Journal

新潟の天気日記

I was sitting drinking a cup of coffee in my car looking out the window and it reminded me of my drive I used to take up in Northern Washington. I lived there after I got my first job out of University. I was up in Anacortes and my drive to work was through a bunch of fields similar to this.

コーヒーを飲みながら運転していると、以前住んでいたワシントンの景色を思い出した。大学を卒業してから、しばらく住んでいたことのある場所だ。職場に向かう道で、よく見たことがある景色だ。

While drinking the coffee and looking out, I remembered a coworker at the time who always added hazulnut cream to his coffee. For whatever reason, I missed that smell now. So I hunted for some hazelnut. As luck would have it, I found "hazelnut sugar" at Family Mart (a convenience store here) and put some in my coffee. The smell took me right back to my office. I took a swig. My god that sucked.

Who would put that shit in their coffee?

同時に、ヘーゼルナッツ味のコーヒーを良く飲んでいた同僚のことも思い出した。僕はヘーゼルナッツの味が無性に恋しくなり、コンビニでヘーゼルナッツ味の砂糖を見つけ、僕のコーヒーに少し入れてみた。その匂いを嗅いだ途端、僕は昔のオフィスにいる気分になった。一口飲んでみたら、すごく不味かった。もう絶対にしない。

12-15-17.jpg

And a song for the day:


Hope you enjoyed and thanks for reading!
My last 50 Days of Grey post can be found here


@musingsltd is just a dude living in Japan, which has been his home for the last four years. His goal is to share his cultural insights about Japan and America with readers from both countries, creating a bridge of understanding between his two homes. He also blogs sports, terrible gambling insights, draws comics that lack art in every sense of the word and gives unsolicited advice. Why not kick your reservations to the curb and follow the guy, huh?

Sort:  

Haha, I was a sucker for all those little coffee soft drinks in japan, I can't imagine what kind of shit I was putting into my body. I thought it was ok cause it was probably better than Coca Cola but....urgh

I still miss them, even the hazelnut

Hahaha.
Well, probably a little better than coca-cola...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75