Dunes of Death Valley

in #photography6 years ago

Lines and Light

Of all the places I've been, few have made an impact on me quite like the dunes in Death Valley. I don't know if it was the heat, the vastness of the landscape, the incredible photo opportunities, or probably a combination of all three. It was the first warm place on our road trip where we could walk around in shorts and t-shirts and that in and of itself felt incredibly liberating.. It was a very dry 90 degree heat and it felt amazing, even though just earlier that day we woke up to 19 degrees in the Sierras.

The first photo was taken about an hour before sunset, the lines and shadows on the dunes were unlike anything I've ever seen. I was taking photos nonstop, finding different compositions, from wide to telephoto... A little while later the sun went behind some clouds so we didn't get an amazing sunset like we'd hoped but just being out there was enough for me. I can't quite remember another time that I felt emotional standing in a place, I just felt in awe of everything. Humbled, free, empowered, it all added up to incredible moment for me and something that will stick with me for a long time to come.

The second photo was taken just after the sun went down. Apparently almost every night around this time, a huge gust of wind comes whipping through the valley because of the temperature swing from the sun going down. Seconds after I took the photo, I was being sandblasted by 60 mph winds which I couldn't help but laugh at. It's little moments like this that make you feel alive, it makes you feel human..

I really hope you enjoy these couple photos! Death Valley was an awe-inspiring place and I'm sure my photos don't do the feeling justice. Happy Monday ya'll!!

IMG_8908.jpg

IMG_9127.jpg

Sort:  

Wow dude! That golden sand and those shadows are stunning!

Thanks a ton my dude! It was an amazing place that I hope to return to someday soon

Incredible photos, man! A similar experience happened to me here in Oregon at Cape Kiwanda.

Thanks dude! Have you been down to Samuel Boardman? I think you'd really love it down there, I like it way more than Kiwanda

I've been a couple times and I agree that its so much better than Kiwanda! Have you also checked out Bandon?

I have! I've been to just about every nook and cranny on the Oregon Coast and it's one of my favorite places to here in the Winter!

Wow great pictures. I spent my pre teen years in Bishop, California (a couple of hours from Death Valley. We went a couple of times. Until I saw your first shot I would never have thought to make that a photographic destination. Gorgeous.

Thank you! That's awesome you lived so close. We stopped in Bishop a couple times on our trip and that whole area is so lovely. I'd say the dunes are a huge photographic destination, the composition opportunities are nearly endless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62