You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ode to Film - An Introduction to my camera collection

in #photography6 years ago

What an interesting read.

(I've yet to hear the terms 'nineteens', probably because I don't interact with young whippersnappers much anymore).

Back when I was in school, I actually had classes on photography (using an ancient huge fixed vertical camera), and we learned how to develop film, the chemicals involved, etc.

Kids these days have it good with their one-click phone cameras and fancy auto-focus.

Sort:  

Thanks Neg! So when you say "ancient huge fixed vertical camera", are you talking about a large format camera, or referring to the enlarger used to print negatives?

One-click and auto-focus luxuries indeed. I wonder how many kids in a photography class these days know there was a time you couldn't instantly review your photos. It made for a solid understanding of exposure, using light meters, and adjusting accordingly, because you pretty much had to go for it and find out if it worked later. If not, too bad, that photo's gone (unless it's a still life I suppose).

We're talking old. Poor school in central Wisconsin, this is how we learned photography. Very rough approximation, but ours was much more...monolithic:

Haha, you found an image of the oldest looking large format camera you could! That's awesome. That's how you really learn to do photography. Going through some of my old slides, I found images I took of a friend using a large format camera on the mudflats when the tide was out.

See, when the tide goes out here, there's no sand, just dense mud. Perhaps I'll go do a beach photo shoot to post in answer to one of yours sometime. Your beaches may be cozy and warm, but mine look more likely to welcome Cthulhu rising from the depths. Take your pick.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88