Cerro Plomo: "Guardian of the Valley"

in #photography6 years ago

Seattle has Rainier, Tokyo has Fuji, and Santiago has Cerro Plomo. An incredible mountain that towers over the valley where Santiago sits. The Incas referred to it as “Apu Wamani" or "Guardian of the Valley."

G0060376.JPG

About a month and a half ago, I decided to give it an attempt.

The trail starts up near the ski areas and involves a road with around 30 switchbacks that climb in altitude. Every time I have been up this way, I have gotten nauseous and I still don't know if it's from motion sickness or the altitude, probably both. Luckily, drinking water and just sitting for 45 minutes really helped the nauseous subside.

GOPR9337.JPG

First camp was at the beginning of a valley which followed up the mountain. Also marked the point which gave you a direct view of the mountain...

GOPR9340.JPG

It was really special know the area was sacred for the Incas. The route up passes a few small structures built by them. Near the summit, an Incan mummy was discovered as well.

GOPR0390.JPG

The last camp was at the base of the glaciers, really an incredible site.

GOPR0379.JPG

Unfortunately, I made the mistake of not taking the necessary precautions to prevent my water from freezing over night. I also woke up not feeling the best, so I left the summit for another day...

G0029346.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59