My DJI Mavik Pro Has Arrived! Aerial Photography Imminent

in #photography6 years ago

An early Christmas present from my darling bride!

I'll be unboxing it later today and, of course there will be an upcoming post about that.

I've been so intrigued by aerial photography and video. I have a few friends that have been into it for a while. After hanging out with @timsaid a bit in Lisbon, it pushed me over the edge.

Stay tuned for some photos and video, they're coming!

Enjoying This Ride with You!!

Sort:  

Looks cool. Hope you enjoy it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment on my post @iliasdiamantis, I appreciate it

You're welcome . :)

Fantastic present, don’t think I’ll be that lucky this year but I would love one, cheers

Who knows @mikenevitt, maybe steem will take an upward trend and Santa will hook you up?

Yes that would be very nice, cheers mate

Followed!. As a fellow mavic owner (and amateur film-maker of sorts) im interested to see what you get up to with it. One word of caution though, there are quite a few reports of annoying bugs coming out such as flaky gimbal motion. Id recomment getting used to 3 things.

  1. Fly in beginner mode close by for a while to get used to the controls
  2. Fly in sport mode once you get used to it. Sport give you effectivley more power and is invaluable if you are flying in windy conditions. Speaking from experience, theres nothing scarier than the drone not having the power to get back to you - i've saved it a couple of times by flicking it into sport mode
  3. Test out return to home mode and check your RTH altitude after every update. It gets frequently reset and there are tales of RTH flying into trees and power cables that it hasn't seen in order to avoid.

Most importantly have fun (and check out my Iceland post if you want to know what i got up to with the mavic earlier in the year)

https://steemit.com/travel/@markangeltrueman/my-recent-trip-to-iceland-filmed-with-a-mavic-pro

First of all, thanks so much for the follow and amazing commenting!!

I hope to get to the level of 'amateur film-maker' within 6 months or so. We'll see how it goes.

I've been watching a ton of youtubes and I agree with you, I should fly for a while in beginner mode. I haven't even unboxed it yet. It's sitting here next to me on the kitchen table. I want to watch several more instructional videos first.

This is amazing advice you have given me, thanks so much! I will definitely check out your post.

I'm sure you will feel like me, and probably many other drone pilots when they start. Initially, flying it over land that you can get to (in the case of having to land the mavic) is fun, but then you start flying it over water courses; rivers, lakes etc. That's a little scary. I flew by a waterfall which was so misty that the obstacle avoidance started kicking in and the Mavic thought that there were obstacles all around. It just stopped moving - i had no control. That's when sport mode came in (it turns off obstacle avoidance).

I've flown it in the Himalaya which was the scariest of them all. Flying it down and around mountains knowing that it would be lost forever should it, for some reason, fall out of the sky is scary.

I guess confidence builds though and eventually, you have to trust it, and the fact that "Return to home" should get you out of any issues.

I just watched your video, fantastic.

Thanks again for all of the advice. I look forward to learning, fast. I'll be following your future posts. Who knows, maybe a future aerial photography 'community' will grow out of this?

What's your favorite video editing software?

Im a mac user so Final Cut Pro X is bar far the simplest one i've used. When i was a Windows user, it was either Sony Vegas (which the wife still uses as she doesnt like my mac), or Adobe Premier Pro. I always preferred premier pro and did at some point do some fancy stuff in After Effects, but that's real tricky to use.

Great info, thanks again!!

Oh!!! I want one too ... healthy envy from this side XD enjoy it!!! Looking forward to the aerial videos in 4K.

Thanks @juanmiguelsalas. I hope to not let you down with some great 4k coming soon. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

I am pretty sure u will not :) Take care!

You know that I'm going to want to use this, right?!

I foresee some aerial food photography in the near future!

Mind that i won't strain looking for the sauce🤣

I hope this starts a great adventure for you!

You lucky dog! Look forward to seeing it work.

Thanks so much @da-dawn. I hope to not disappoint.

I wander if you'll be able to catch me on the slopes? Or downhilling?

I have no doubt!!

Grandad have a new toy? Enjoy. Pkease don't hit any trees😁

Good words to live by @immarojas, "don't hit any trees." And yes, granddad has a new toy, LOL

Everyone seems to love that one..have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98