My Take on Polaroid Cameras

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0876.JPG

A few months ago I was able to buy the new One Step 2 Polaroid camera, and for the (relatively cheap) price of $99. I was really excited for the camera and had been for a while, the thought of film in my hand would be totally new! The camera feels really nice to hold. It is solid and you can tell it's pretty sturdy, not very cheaply made.
Although the camera itself is not very expensive, the film needed comes at about $18 a pop. Each pack holds 8 films and can run out pretty quickly! I'm sure the price will go down as the new Polaroid becomes more popular, but right now, it's still pretty high. Inserting the film was really fun (as expected) and pressing the shutter button to release the film case's cover let out that really satisfying Polaroid click!

IMG_0874.JPG
IMG_0880.JPG
After getting used to the camera's features, I was finally ready to take my first Polaroid picture. I read that to actually capture what you want on the film, you have to aim the camera down and to the right of what shows up in the little view finder. So it takes a little while to get used to aiming and angling the lense despite what you may see through the viewfinder. In other words, don't trust the viewfinder! I'm still getting used to it!

IMG_0873.JPG

If you already know how to use Polaroids, or were able to figure it out, the photos do come out nicely. The colors are very nice and the camera really is able to capture the moment, exactly how you remember it. When I look back at the photos, it is crazy how well they kept the memories alive. The film the One Step 2 uses is the classic Polaroid square film that gives anything a charm. The photos take around 15 minutes to fully develop but the scene will start to show up after only a few minutes. It is super fun to take photos and even more exciting to see how they turn out (and even more exciting if they turn out well!). The camera is really beautiful and I definitely recommend it!

IMG_0866.JPG

Sort:  

Old fashioned cameras have something really special about them.

Yeah they really do! They make every photo worth more than you would think on a digital camera.

Awesome, now I know about Polaroid cameras! Really good photos. @originalworks

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67310.62
ETH 3754.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63