Street Photography Series B&W #13 - Winter in Amsterdam

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

BW Amsterdam 2018-20.jpg

I made a short trip to Paris and Amsterdam earlier this year and was able to spend some time with @theywillkillyou and @world5list while there. Too bad @heyitshaas was out of the country at the time, so I missed him. I'm sharing here some street photography pictures taken from the Amsterdam portion of the trip.
@world5list, do you recognize this view?

BW Amsterdam 2018-11.jpg

I would say early March of 2018 wasn't the best time to be in Amsterdam. It was freezing cold! Even the locals were not used to that type of cold. Despite the freezing temperatures though, Amsterdam was beautiful, alive and a lot of fun. The residents and visitors alike made the most of the bad weather.
It was a treat to see the Albert Cuijp market in the wintertime. It wasn’t as crowded as the last time I was there which was summertime a couple of years ago. It was, however, busy anyway - the stalls were filled with all sorts of food and various goods and the shoppers were around despite the freezing temperature.
Had a nice herring sandwich from this stall courtesy of @world5list.

BW Amsterdam 2018-8.jpg

Smoked mackerel from one of the stalls

BW Amsterdam 2018-7.jpg

More mackerel

BW Amsterdam 2018-6.jpg

How cold was it? It was so cold that the canals froze hard enough to support the weight of several people. Ice skaters strapped on their blades and took to the canals to enjoy the skating rink that Mother Nature had chosen to provide. It was quite a sight and it felt like being in a well-attended party where anyone who dared to go on the ice was ‘warmly’ welcomed.
That's the frozen canal down there, not the street!

BW Amsterdam 2018-5.jpg

The ice skaters were busy (and happy!) as is evident in the elaborate markings on the ice's surface.

BW Amsterdam 2018-30.jpg

I had rented a houseboat for a few nights for my family that I kept as a surprise. Funnily enough, it backfired on me as the houseboat wasn’t livable by the time we arrived. The sub-zero temperatures had frozen the pipes which prevented water to flow within the houseboat. It was a true disaster when we first found out about it. Luckily though, the people I was renting the houseboat from were able to provide an alternate place that was centrally located. It was a beautifully furnished, clean space that was accessible to the places we wanted to visit. Additionally, behind it was a street that led to a labyrinth of shops and restaurants. Fun! All’s well that ends well!
Photos taken on 2-3Mar2018 with a Leica M9 except for one which was taken with an iPhone. Can you guess which it is?
Sort:  

The sixth photo is taken by iPhone!
Wow frozen canal for skating, something new for me!
Short, nice photo and interesting! I love it!!

I first thought you were right because I thought there were 6 photos. It's the 7th photo actually that was taken with an iPhone =D. Thanks for guessing! You're the only one who made a guess so I'll upvote your comment by 100% =D!!!

No way! The picture looks go good! I knew I phone camera was good but not till this extent.

Probably others missed out the last paragraph:) but thanks!

Yeah, others may have missed the last paragraph. I used a smaller font. :|

Indeed u are :)

It looked so different back then.

It was so cold back then. Must be so nice now in May.

Great photographs @offoodandart - love the black and white - I was in Amsterdam last year in the summer - loved it

nice hope you enjoyed the city i live in, always share hidden gems of the city.
Love London as well

London ... haven't been there in a long time. Need to put it back on the list.

I agree, Amsterdam is so easy to love. I'm hoping I can go back again soon.

But I'm pretty sure we'll meet somehow @leelektrik. I just don't know where that will happen. Hoping it'll be Cyprus :)

Great post! shame i was not there, really like the pictures, black and white very nice. Good to see you promoting the country.

It's a very nice country you live in @heyitshaas. I've enjoyed it both times I've visited. The people are really nice too.

Beautiful place the truth that yes, I have never been there but it is good to see it in photos now a doubt in the last photo where people walk that is frozen water? Woow at first it seems that they walk on water

Yes, it's frozen water. It was super cold that the canal water froze allowing the people to walk on the water =D!

Thanks for visiting @yesslife!

This city looks very clean and so beautiful! It looks like in the movie in my opinion! All the pics always look really very beautiful and have a meaning and your photography looks very professional,too! It would be nice if I can have some skill like you. ;)

Oh, you definitely have great skills. Your food always look beautiful and delicious. Plus your photographs are always of the best quality!

Looks so beautiful but oh so cold! I have an ex South African friend who now lives in the Netherlands and does she long for SA in winter!

I'm sure that's true especially if she used to live where you live because I recall that you get mild winters. Therefore, it doesn't get super, super cold.

Thanks for checking out my post @lizelle! I truly appreciate it.

You're right @offoodandart, Durban & the Kwazulu Natal coast has lovely mild winters, unlike the rest of South Africa that can get really cold and some snow in places but only the Drakensberg mountain range experience heavy snow.
Durban summers are harsh though, extremely hot and humid!
Enough weather reporting for now, enjoy the rest of your day :)

That's so great to know. I have to say I'm learning a lot and I love it when I'm widening my knowledge base. Thank you!!!

Just by looking at the pictures I'm starting to freeze!! The kind of cold that gets to the bones! :D The houseboat sounds like a lovely idea:) too bad it didnt work out... but luckily you had an alternative place given so thats great! sounds like you guys had a great trip afterall and made the best out of it! HORRRAY! :) Lovely pics by the way @offoodandart :)

Thank you! I know ... looking at the photos makes me freeze too. I'm sure it's a lot warmer now over there and the canal is back to being a canal. =D

Love the pictures in black and white. I remember having the best stroopwafels at Albert Cuijp market. Amsterdam is truly a beautiful city and I'm glad to hear your sleeping arrangements worked out.

So glad it worked out too. I really wanted my dad to enjoy the trip and he did!

Beautiful photographs. I was wondering, were the smoked mackerels being sold frozen or fresh?

The smoked mackerels were fresh. But with the cold temps, they were probably close to being frozen! =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43