Sort:  

It's a Chinese New Year custom. One the eve, the family gather for a reunion dinner. In cases for people go out of the home town to work, they go home for that. It’s a big logistic issue for place like China from what i heard. Nowadays, in Singapore, many people choose to eat out and necessary on the day of the eve. Partly because many eating places are closed and they rip you off more on the eve. Often, on the the eve, they have restricted hours.

Ah I see! So that does sound like a big deal and also a nice custom to help keep the family ties together. Thank you for explaining it for me :-)

You're welcome. I guess is a bit like those American movies I see where people find all sort of ways to go home for Christmas. :-)
For China, this piece of news is kind of weird funny to me
http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2019-02/07/c_137804796.htm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63630.77
ETH 3179.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95