Leavenworth Ski Area - Yesterday and Today

in #photography6 years ago

My dad used to ski jump here back in the '50s. The first three shots were taken by my dad back in the day. They were some of over 2000 of his 35mm slides that I have scanned in. It's nice to be able to share them instead of just gathering dust in the closet. :)

ski jump-1.jpg

Not sure this is something I could have done.

ski jump-1-2.jpg

Yep. After this view I'm pretty sure ski jumping wasn't passed in the genes. Lol.

ski jump-1-3.jpg

The next few shots are ones I took on a trip through Leavenworth a couple years ago. Not much left of the old jump but a few faded boards.

ski jump-1-5.jpg

ski jump-1-4.jpg

The lodge down below.

ski jump-1-7.jpg

Map and info of the area.

ski jump-1-6.jpg

Some where I think I have stills and movies of him jumping here. Sounds like a whole other project I need to get into. :)

Enjoy!

Sort:  

oh damn i could never think about jumping down there

I am interested in seeing/obtaining any photo or video footage that you may have. Am making a documentary about the hill.

Very cool! In addition to the three pics in this post I think there are a couple more slides that my dad took in the 1950's. I will go through my archives when I get a chance.

I also have some 8mm movies from the same time period that were put on dvd about 20 odd years ago. Don't really remember the quality. Still have the original 8mm film also but not sure about condition. I will have to find those dvd's when I can.

I know I have a lot of B&W photos in a tote of my dad and others ski jumping at different venues over the years. Just not sure how well labeled they might be. Again I need to take the time to do a little searching. Also might have a trophy/medal from a competition with Leavenworth on it.

Might I ask what your connection is to the hill and why you are doing the documentary? Also do you have any links to other docs you have done?

I have always thought about somehow sharing this stuff with the Leavenworth community. Maybe this is the way. Thanks. :)

Thanks for getting back to me. I live in L-town and am married to a Bakke. The Upper Valley Museum is moving to a downtown location, and I am working with them and the LWSC to get a more complete history of not just jumping, but of the hill itself. Those pics that you have posted above are the best yet of the newly built trestle after its collapse in 1957.

We are looking for any old pics, videos, and artifacts. Many of the local families have home movies and photos and are anxious to help. I even have some 8mm that my in-law took in 1959 that I am in the process of digitizing, plus have scanned his slides from the '54-'62 time period. Might even be one of your father. May I ask his name?

I have all(most) of the stuff that I have gathered loaded into the video editor as placeholders while I chase down HDdigital copies, and obtain publication rights. We would love to include yours, with full credit. Would you be ok with moving the remainder of our conversion to e-mail, or does it need to be here?

Thank you,
Brian

Thanks Brian, now I get your username and the connection to the hill. Missed that the first time, lol.

Sounds like a great project and I would be honored to have some of my dad's stuff included. I'm a little hesitant to post my email here but I could make a throw away or if you do discord you could direct message me yours at oldmans#4913.

Thanks,
Bill

Just got discord to DM. bakkeski#6123

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64