A Different Alberta

in #photography6 years ago

To continue with my blog I want you present the other side of the medal too. I'll show you yet another face of this great country.

Before the oil era, Alberta was known as a Cowboy country. I was thinking that that part is gone but I was wrong. Every bigger town has its own rodeo event each summer. A different kind of tradition and competitions.

It's more like sport but even in real life, Cowboys are still around. A lot of land and beef farming. Despite technology some job still needs to be done manually. In the saddle on the horseback. And these guys are masters.

2013-07-14 00.43.21.jpg

This image tells it all.

2013-07-14 03.45.12 (2).jpg

Calgary Stampede is the biggest tourist event in Canada. Thousands of people all over the world visit this great exhibition every year.

2013-07-14 03.18.04.jpg

The typical specimen of it's kind.

2013-07-14 03.35.41.jpg

And another.

2013-07-14 03.28.46.jpg

We'll never know how many hours they spent to prepare them to look like this.

2013-07-14 03.23.27.jpg

Oh, and I didn't forget. We have Cowgirls too.

It's nice sunny Saturday here. Enjoy yours.

Sort:  

Hhah I liked the way you said we also have cowgirls too lol
I like cow boys, you know they just look different and seeing them you can tell from where they are coming. Maybe one reason of liking them is that they have horses and I like horses.

cowboys are indeed classic but still modern in any age. thanks for sharing sir

Nice photos!)

I have just discover you on steemit , really you a good photographer , i'm mohamed from morocco , have a good day

photography is very good my friend. and I will always help you here my friend. and friends please help me once my friend yes @oldtimer

The culture among men and women will never die! All hail to them! Thank you for sharing, this just gives a flashback of what and whom they really are! You also know hoodie? In the toy story movie? He was my idol hehehe

Very nice photography..
Thank friend for share your photo

Some professions are a crucial part of our history, I guess yours is cow-farming. They are important aspect of our culture and development, no amount of civilization can erase that.

I enjoyed scrolling down and reading & seeing each of the photographs . Thank you so much for posting this. Lovely photographs of your stroll and well written missive of your musings. So enjoyed reading about them and how you appreciate it so. A Wonderful post......it would be a privilege to see indeed.
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this.

Hey @oldtimer, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75