A Kick In The Balls

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Let me describe my first morning after coming back home to Edmonton, Alberta, Canada and then you tell me if I'm exaggerating with the title of today's post.

Here's the story:

  • In the last two days, I slept maybe two hours all in all but because of the jet lag, I was wide awake but still tired at 5 AM. And hungry too.

  • Opened my computer just to find out the price of Steem dropped another 15%.

  • Opened the fridge and surprise, surprise. It was empty.

  • Went to the garage and my car doesn't want to cooperate. Dead battery.

All this and it's not even noon yet.

I took the bike and backpack and went to the grocery store.

20181010_172550.jpg

This was the harsh reality just before landing after we descend below the clouds.

Light snow and minus 1 degree C.

20181010_174351.jpg

At the custom, while waiting to enter Canada, they try to trick you with this tropic wall at the Edmonton airport.

20181010_180611.jpg

A unique piece of art made of natural materials.

20181010_161419.jpg

Look who brought us from Iceland. Maybe is her fault.

20181011_082105.jpg

This ice sculpture will persist until mid-April at least.

You can see our only tomato plant in the background.

20181011_091854.jpg

And here's the proof of my today's story.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that I was also too early for the liquor store to be open so I couldn't buy some wine.

Steak and water don't fit together well but I wasn't ready for another ride.

After a day like this, I asked myself:

What the hell I'm doing here?

When I was leaving the store a nice old lady asks me if the road is not too slippery for the biking and I told her the story about the vacation, empty fridge, and dead battery.

She smiled at me kindly and said just two words:

welcome back.

Sort:  

Your day sounds quite boring and stressful but the pictures look really nice.

I was always shocked when I saw people biking in the snow. Now I know the story behind it 🤣

I was wondering how someone can bike in 50 degrees untill my car broke down :D

No AC at that point eh?

If you go fast enough you can feel the almost "cool" breeze :)

That's hell of a story for a steemit post. I hope you tracked your bike ride to the store with @actifit anyways I cannot imaging how hard it could be to bike with snow and icy roads. Thanks for sharing pictures and post.

Feliz regreso a Canadá @oldtimer despues de unas merecidas vacaciones. Imagino que extrañabas tu hogar amigo y la nieve es lo mejor de Edmonton como me encantaria poder verla y sentirla aunque sea por una vez

oh man! Move South!

Your title is totally apt for your story.

That bison sculpture is awesome. That snow and ice shit really has me not wanting winter to come though. Not yet. I'm not ready.

Firstly, "welcome to reality, what would be of life without these mishaps do not you think very boring? The important thing is that in 2 or 3 days you will recover your stoicism again from fighting adversities, as you always make me laugh with your jocular form write, and not the fault is not that cute girl, the fault is the cow, hahaha, good friend with so much trouble to publish I would like to extend but I have been waiting for a long time to open the images, I congratulate you for your return because you are with us and I live that is the most important thing, you receive a big welcome hug and then nothing to battle with the inclement cold friend @oldtimer

I cant sleep at all! Not in the airplane, not in the car and not in the bus :( Very beautiful photos, but the best one is the ice sculpture. I havent seen that before. Very interesting! We are still having summer here :)

Hi, @oldtimer!

You just got a 5.31% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99