Indian Village

in #photography6 years ago

Native nations are the other side of the coin here in Alberta. I don't know enough on this topic and I'll just present you some beautiful photos.

As kids, we read Karl May's books about Winetou and Old Shatterhand, and watch western movies with John Wayne. I would never imagine I'll see the real Cowboys or Indians in person.

Boy, I was wrong.

20180707_180741.jpg

Tipi or teepee?

You can use both names.

20180707_180405.jpg

Traditional items from everyday life of the native people as we call them now.

20180707_180429.jpg

Part of the village.

20180707_181115 (2).jpg

Young lady in the traditional attire.

I'm not quite sure about sunglasses, tho.

20180707_175337.jpg

Art and souvenirs.

Very expensive.

2013-07-14 00.06.05.jpg

A lot of feathers.

20180707_180945.jpg

Bison meat drying and smoking.

2013-07-14 00.10.43.jpg

Old and modern on the same shot.

20180707_180509.jpg

This one is my favorite.

2013-07-14 00.06.23.jpg

I wonder what is the price of one of these handmade dresses.

20180707_180626.jpg

Inside the tipi.

That's all for today. I'm sure you enjoyed my today's selection.

I just read that poloniex exchange enabled steem and SBD wallets again. We hope it'll hold and help the prices of our coins.

It's a soccer time.

Have a great day, my friends.

Sort:  

That's so cool that you got the chance to interact with indigenous culture @oldtimer. I think a lot of people in North America forget the ancient roots of this place. Instead they think of India or Africa or some faraway locale. Although so much of their history and culture was destroyed due to their interactions with us, the "invading immigrants," I am happy much is still preserved.

The photo of the girl with traditional attire and sunglasses was pretty funny. :-)

Great post @oldtimer!

I really enjoyed this vicarious cultural experience! That headdress is magnanimous...I'm sure a chief wore it with great honor.

The bison reminds me to research why they almost went extinct.

Just an overall great post...had to say that again!

Best regards.

Peace.

cool photos and traditional customs are wonderful .

I would love to have seen that I did Visiting a Pow WOW here a coupleof years ago and this brings back memories of that but this one seems a lot bigger so many colorful teepees and so much to see

I would love to experience this if I ever go to North America. My best friend was crazy about western movies when I was young and we would rent one western movie to check each weekend. Is there wolf fur for sale or am I seeing wrong ?

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Wow the teepee kitchen looks very spacious. The great color and indian designs you photographed are such a contrast to the glass towers in the city. It really makes it look like aliens have landed and taken over.

Beautiful people, I hope that their traditions would never be gone forever because of the rapid global changes @oldtimer but it is very good they have an expo like that so that they can sell and show their traditions and educate the public how and what native Indians are.

howdy there @oldtimer! excellent photos as usual sir, did you eat any of that Bison meat? lol. great job. that place is so colorful!

It's really beautiful everything, what fun it must be to be there and share with those wonderful people, another place that is on my list to visit
Thanks for sharing this amazing pictures

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79