Watching & Waiting: a dance into the setting sun

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

woolara sunset.JPG

I have been more inclined to wait for my vision of an image of late. I used to settle for what life gave me. Now I bide my time, watch for the skies to do what I want.

An apt metaphor for how life changes as the years pass. So used to being given the short stick I grabbed at what I could get. Any man who showed interest a potential mate. Any job despite the conditions I was glad to have. Anyone willing to have me around - my new best friend.

I don't know whether this choice to watch and wait comes with age or imposition. The after effects and cleaning up. The years are not waiting for me to catch up. I've so little time left to waste on buckets and mops.

I watched this hill rise every day on my way home from work and waited months for a sky just the right mix of gold and pink. I wanted to imagine I lived on a prairie and dance circles into a setting sun. Dress blowing in the wind. Then fall dizzy to the ground giggling with glee.

It was worth the wait. A lesson learned.

_______

It has been a while Steemians! Excited to be back.

All words and pictures are my own. Some of my content may have been previously published in one of more of the following locations:


Steemit words: @onethousandwords

Instagram | Facebook |EyeEm | Blog


You can also find me on LinkedIn

Sort:  

Oh wow. Thank you. Way to welcome a girl back 😊

And what a way to make an entrance! Or should I say, re-entrance... or... oh, never mind - just glad to see you back, and that shot is totally worth the wait!


via GIPHY

Ha ha that's the warmest welcome I ever did recieve. Thank you

Yay! I missed your beautiful posts!

Bless. Thank you.

Congratulations @onethousandpics! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Nice shot. I hope to see you posting more than once a month or so.. ;)

Thanks. Now that I have realised I can post from my phone I'm sure I'll be dropping in more often.

My favourite australian steemian has come back!!! That is good for steemit!! I missed your amazing photos!!! I hope you were well. I'll have to improve my english for understand better your posts I think I need a dictionary! Some words are strange for me, ha ha ha Welcome back!

You have just totally made my day. What a wonderful welcome.

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of August 8 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Welcome back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62539.74
ETH 3201.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81