Cave Diving :: Entrance to Kukulkan

in #photography6 years ago

Kukulkan makes up one of the two dive sites known as Chac Mool near Playa Del Carmen, Mexico.

The dive has been shot by magazines the world over and is known for it's impressive light penetration on or just before midday. Not such a popular dive anymore owing to environmental factors.

IMG_4566.jpg

Sort:  

Free vote for you! Yay!

Haha, thank you.

Very cool shot! I'd be way too freaked out to go cave diving. Too bad that it's having environment issues -- what exactly is the problem?

Either way -- you're right about the light penetration into the cave -- it's beautiful! The water is so clear too. Must have been very exciting.

It has a high level of foreign matter (pollution), it's still a nice dive above the haloclyne, and the line now has been re-routed away from the deeper (sub 12m depths). I have some footage as the way it was, I'll post if I can dig it out, it really was such a spectacular dive.

It's good to see this. Thank you! Those names used to fascinate me when i was a kid

Thanks Ross!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #sportsphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 00:50:14
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 225.72/400.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 3.28 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a wonderful underwater photography. Excellent shot! The water is so clear, wish I learn how to swim and dive to experience the same thing.

It’s all fresh water. Well as fresh as it can be after a group of divers passes through it 😊

While not learn to swim 🏊‍♂️

The dive course is a 4 day course, then you’re all set!

It is one of my bucketlists, as long as I got out of my fear of deep ocean, ;) hope it is not too late,

Hey, your entry won! Congratulations! I came across the announcement post.

https://steemit.com/sportsphotography/@photocontests/photocontests-selection-201801091600021433

My first cent dives were here, in Kukulkan and Chac Mool. Great photo!

It was a very popular dive site a few years ago. One of my favourites. I spent a lot of dives here. If you went in the early years, you were very lucky.

Omg!
That's so AWEsome....
That photo is so clear, and the view is just so spectacular man 😎

Sometimes you would almost forget you were in water, breathtaking. I have some film footage I’ll post. It’s already out there, but I need to re edit with my own soundtrack as it’ll infringe copyright.

Oh YES!!! PLEASE DO SIR!!!
I wanna watch it

I have it on Vimeo still....

It should be a wonderful dive. Nice shot also

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67