Cave Diving :: The CloudsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Deep underground of the Yucatan Peninsula are ribbons of sub-terrain water systems, all interconnected. The Maya believed the entrances to these were the gateways to the underworld.

Where there is light penetration and organic debris, there can exist a spectacle of a Hydrogen Sulphide cloud suspended in the water.

IMG_1368.jpg

This shot was taken at 30m down in The Pit cenote, near Tulum, Mexico.

The light you see is ambient light filtering down through the cave aperture some 40m up.

Thanks for taking time to look at my photography!

ormism.jpg

Sort:  

Guess who got her steem power back up?!? I love the photo. Super scary. I cannot even go underwater without holding my nose lol.

Hahaha!

Welcome back!

The Pit is definitely on my bucket list! Thanks for posting!

Done right, and at the right time of year, I think it's up there as one of the best dives in the world.

Awesome photo... keep it up

That is a very cool photo. Take a look at my video of diving in Jacob's Well. It is a cave in central Texas. https://steemit.com/scuba/@liquidtravel/cave-diving-in-jacob-s-well-texas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67