The Tracks We Take

Hey guys, I was talking to my son this weekend about buying his first house and he was stressing to me if it was the right choice. I obviously thought it was a great choice as we could get him out of the basement, but then I got to thinking. In my day buying a house was a big a goal, it was something that had to be done to make a family. But now a lot of people choose to rent and the way the house market is, its very hard to afford house at a young age.

2010 12 14_1743_edited-1.JPG

Yesteday I was out for a walk and I heard a few trains come by the park, I walked up to the path and figured Id snap a few shots. As I went through the photo's I got to wondering about all the interesting quotes you'd find on T.V. Google, Inspiring photo's and poems, about being down the right track. How do we know where going down the right track? I read a interesting quote when I got home after searching for some motivation to tell my son, "You may not know where the tracks end but preserve and you shall see." - Anonymous I found it to be a very honest quote because we all set goals in are life, finishing school, find a good job, explore the world, buy a house, start a family, whatever your into but nothing in this world is a guarantee. It doesn't matter if your the funny, casual, passenger train. The speedy, fancy, via train or even the rugged, rusty, freight train, they all have a path and all have a goal. Where all different in life and things can change in a blink of a eye, but if we don't keep pushing forward, if we don't keep working hard will never know were this world can take us.

I told him I'll support him if he fails or succeeds, but its gonna have to be a goal that he sets. Something that he wants to do, not something I want him to do.

Thanks for reading !

@out4awalkphotos

Sort:  

What a good dad!! I loved this story and the photo :) I love that your son brings you into the decision and that you had some wonderful advice for him.

It's so tough for this generation to get started in the housing market. I'm a boomer and it was tough for us too - the mortgage rates went to over 20% at one time. We didn't get our house until our kids were in their pre teens.

We still have a mortgage! But our investment is good and we have more that what we owe.

Thanks for sharing !

Exactly ! I know its harder for the generation today and yes the houses were cheaper when I was looking to move out, but I think they don't realize that we had hard as well. I was only getting paid 6.50 an hour when I was looking for a house but I also know are house was bought as an investment for the future and has gone up a lot in the 35 years owning it. I don't know how much of a investment houses will be in the future with prices so high ..

$6.50 an hour....yikes. And you settled into a house? Good going!!! You still in the same one ?

Congratulations @out4awalkphotos! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @out4awalkphotos! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73