Lyme Regis - The Jurassic Coast DORSET UK (Photography) FOSSILS

in #photography7 years ago

The Pearl of Dorset

Lyme Regis, the Pearl of Dorset in Lyme Bay UK is a small seaside town at the centre of the Fossil filled Jurassic Coast. It is home to countless fossil finds including the important specimens discovered by Mary Anning in the 1820's (She of She Sells Seashells on the Seashore rhyme), a self taught and largely uncredited Palaeontologist whose work led to significant changes in scientific thinking on the early history of the Earth.

Fossil Hunting

Lyme Regis is full of shops selling specimens of fossils large and small and holiday making fossil hunters young and old. I visited Lyme Regis and decided to find my own. I did also buy a few very good quality specimens found and extracted by locals. If you are lucky you might find a well preserved ammonite. You could find a whole dinosaur skeleton which sometimes appear out of the crumbling rocks, particularly after a harsh winter storm.

Dinosaur Bones

I found a dinosaur bone, most likely a Plesiosaur fin bone, of which there are a number. Many small fossils can be found on the shoreline of cockles and other bivalves. This is what Mary was selling to make ends meet in 1812 so the rhyme goes. Ammonite fossils which are distant cousins of squid and relatives of the modern day Nautilus can grow to enormous proportions but many intact specimens can be found from the size of a penny up to an impressive cup size.

The first impression of Lyme Regis is this impressive wide & shallow bay to the East which at low tide exposes a flat rock bed expanse. There is a small beach lined with shops and cafes in front of the steep windy roads of the town. On the other side of the harbour there is a wild shingle beach with huge tree trunk stumps washed up. This is where I found some of the best fossil examples.

128101434981 - lyme regis at low tide bw.jpg

  • Lyme Regis as the tide is going out 1/3200th @ f2.8 ISO 100

127710490311 - lyme regis incoming tide_2.jpg

  • The incoming tide begins to fill the bay with gentle rolling waves 1/640th @ f2.8 ISO 100

128101539576 - lyme regis fossil beach bw.jpg

  • The Wild West side of the Beach at the end of Lyme Regis 1/200th @ f5.6 ISO 100

127710665246 - driftwood at lyme regis_1.jpg

  • Driftwood in the form of whole tree roots / stumps washed up on the west side 1/250th @ f4 ISO 100

127710665246 - driftwood at lyme regis_2.jpg

  • Driftwood in the form of whole tree trunk stumps washed up on the west side 1/250th @ f4 ISO 100

127710718001 - ammonite fossils on the beach at lyme regis bw.jpg

  • Large rocks worn down by the tides expose a cross section of a large Ammonite fossil 1/250th @ f4 ISO 100

127710867891 - ammonite fossils on the beach at lyme regis bw.jpg

  • Large rocks worn down by the tides expose a cross section of an array of small Ammonite fossils 1/250th @ f4 ISO 100

127710918561 - fossils on the beach at lyme regis bw.jpg

  • Large rocks worn down by the tides expose cross sections of large Ammonite fossils 1/500th @ f4 ISO 100

127710319261 - fly jonathan.jpg

  • Home to a large population of Sea Birds these aggressive Gulls will steal your fish & chips at the merest opportunity. I watched as a large gull took position on a parasol and slowly sneaked up on an old lady taking her bag of chips off with it 1/1600th @ f4 ISO 100

127710217606 - on the wing.jpg

  • Sea Birds at their finest, doing what seabirds do best, gliding on the wind using little energy to scan the horizon for food; shoal of small herring or an unwitting human's fish supper 1/100th @ f 5.6 ISO 100

128101489981 - rock pools at lyme regis bw.jpg

  • Rock pools are a favourite play area at Lyme Regis - low tide. I even found a small fossilised bivalve (cockleshell) in one 1/2500th @ f2.8 ISO 100

Technical

I used a relatively fast f2.8, ultra wide angle 14mm lens for the landscape shots, which I had brought with me for astro-photography in the relative dark skies of the South Coast. It produces a crisp, sharp image & produces a still wide 21mm equivalent on a DX body. (The Nikon version is chip controlled). I also had a 70-300mm lens and used this to capture the fossils on the beach.

Sort:  

Great photos. Do you always shoot black and white?

Spent some wonderful times in Dorset attending a 2-week course at Bovington when I was Canadian Army, then visiting on my own and later starting my honeymoon there (40 years ago this week!), then more recently visiting several friends who live in the area still.

Thanks for the comment @brightongreg ! what a great place to start your honeymoon. I don't always shoot in Black & White. I do like colour. Sometimes using black & white focuses the perception on certain forms and features. other times the colour adds another dimension. I do like both !

Agree about black and white. You've given me the idea to perhaps post some of mine - thanks! And colour too.

no perhaps in it ! post them :)

Just did a few from trip to Helsinki. Thanks for push!

I visited there over 10 years ago, thanks for the memory!

my pleasure. I'm hoping to go back there later this year.. on a fossil hunt, will post my fossil pics !

My Dad took us here when we were kids, I loved walking along the beach finding fossils. Especially considering Jurassic Park had only just come out, it was really exciting for us. Thanks for the memories.

@munchell, my pleasure. I'm still excited about Jurassic Park, finding any kind of fossil, let alone a dinosaur bone is quite an experience ! and the museum specimens of Plessie's found along that stretch of coast are amazing ! I've heard a few triceratops have been hauled out and sometimes a dinosaur face or leg just pops out of the mud.. can you imagine seeing that on your morning walk !!!

That would be amazing, I think I would be like a little kid at Christmas, absolutely giddy with excitement.

Beautiful shots; I remember going to Lyme Regis with my primary school, many, many moons ago. I can't really recall any details, this has made me want to go back :-)

Cg

maybe you should go back. you'll probably find it hasn't changed much ! and it's such a great area to explore. I'll be going back soon

I'll definitely go back, this time I'll take my daughter there, and we can both be kids :-)

Cg

yeah I can't wait to take my girls fossil hunting.. when they're a bit older ! you never know what they might find.. I want to find a fossilised fish !

Yeah great for kids, like I say, I can't really remember my trip there as I was in primary school, but I seem to remember being fascinated by the fossils :-)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67776.21
ETH 3737.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72