Paddling Peche Island, Windsor Ontario. *Photo Heavy*

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Peche Island, is an uninhabited, currently 86-acre Canadian-owned island in the Detroit River, at its opening into Lake Saint Clair. It is 1.2 miles east of U.S.-owned Belle Isle, and 360 yards from the Windsor shore. Wikipedia

Several years ago my paddling buddy and I kayaked over to Peche Island for the day. We'd been told to launch from Kayak Cove just off Riverside Dr. We must have driven by this tiny little spot three times before we finally saw the sign.

It was a hot day so I was very happy to get out of her old car and unpack our gear! I couldn't wait to get on the water!

I was surprised how strong the current was as we crossed to a little inlet. Once we entered the inlet it was calm and beautiful.

Seeing this swan made me hopeful that our day of "paddle-birding" was going to be fruitful and it was.

Within five minutes of entering the inlet we found a Great White Egret.....well frightened him really.

After about 15 minutes of very stealthy paddling we came across this Green Heron...I wish that stick wasn't in the way but that's what happens when you're birding. Half the time I'm just lucky to get a shot.

A little further in we found what appeared to be a weather monitoring station.

Everywhere we looked it was green and lush even in the water.

We discovered an old dock....it may have been sturdy enough to tie a boat to but we wouldn't recommend it.

Moving further inland the underwater vegetation became quite thick.

As the vegetation thinned we found a small channel and decided to explore. A few minutes up the channel we found this bridge.

We knew a little history about this island. The last people to have lived here was the Hiram Walker Distillery family and we were told that the remains of their mansion was still here. This bridge told us we were close ....and also not alone. LOL! We found a canoe on shore and decided to land and look around. We didn't find the mansion......to be honest we didn't want to leave our gear for too long.

The bridge fascinated me.... no idea why.

We continued paddling the channel for quite some time. Interestingly the channel runs up the middle of the island. It was quite green and beautiful!

Once we were back out into the river we explored the exterior of the island. You could see where people had come over for picnics and LEFT THEIR DAMN GARBAGE. We ended up landing at a little beach and collecting up a bag full.

We decided it was time for lunch and found a nice spot to sit.

We finished up and figured it was time to get back. It was about this point, on the U.S. side of the island that a HUGE barge came through. I have to tell you, it scared the crap out of us but we laughed our heads off and paddled on. I've never been that close to a boat that size....it really moved the water!

It was a pretty uneventful and relaxing paddle back to the main land.

We were so hot when we landed. I would have killed for a swim....lucky for my buddy there was a beach just down the road and it was heavenly to sink into that cool water.

On the drive home we decided to take a detour to the Hillman Marsh...but I'll save that story for another day.

Until next time friends...

Sort:  

Sounds like it was a wonderful trip besides having to clean up after a bunch of pigs.I can not stand people that litter.
Thank You for sharing great post wonderful pictures.

Your name really works well with this post. The shots are really nice. They look very "natural documentary". Especially few of the ones at the start.

A nice post. Is the first "heron" photo really a Great Egret?

Thanks! You are right...LOL. Have a great day.

I'm not an expert and the shot is a bit far away, but when I saw it before reading I thought Great Blue Heron.

I'm going by the all white color, apparent yellow bill, and black legs and feet. Also I think Great Egret is seen in this range.

It's easy with a quick glance to think it's a Blue Heron because of the light but it really is a Great White Egret. There were many more of them than usual in SW Ontario that year.... I even saw them along my river here in London. It was late when I wrote the post and wasn't thinking. LOL! Have a great day!

I haven't seen any in Hamilton, tons of Heron here.
I'm heading up to the cabin next week, hopefully I get some good shots from the birdfeeder, and the batbox has some occupants...

That sounds good! I hope you get some good pics to share...."hint"..Grin. Have a good one!

Looks you had a nice trip. Thank you for documenting it and sharing these beautiful photos.

Beautiful pictures and sceneries. They remind me of a beach on an island in Venezuela. The island is Margarita, but I can't remember what the beach is called. I know that it's one of the most popular locations for surfers because of its big waves and the beautiful waters and landscapes, but apart from that I'm lost.

I have some pics of that. I might share them someday.

Your pictures, however, are just another level, very pretty. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for your kind words. Maybe one day you'll share your pics.....I'll keep an eye out.

This post acutally makes me want to try kayaking.

It really brings a whole new perspective to discovering a lake and its wildlife (except if the latter gets scared away 😄).

Isn't it quite difficult to phtograph out of your kayak with your heavy Olympus camera?!

It's not as difficult as you would think. My old Olympus, E500, was a big bulky camera but you find ways to stabilise yourself....and sometimes you just take a lot of shot. My current camera is an Olympus em1 which is a mirror-less micro 4/3 and I LOVE IT! Much smaller and easier to shot with one hand......depending on the size of your lens that is.

I think you'd love kayaking.......but then again I think everyone should love it. LOL!!! Have a great day.

Anyway you have my highest respect for shooting these sharp photos out of your kayak :-)

Maybe I'll try it. Summer is coming up in Switzerland...

It really is hard to get good photos without branches or leaves in the way. Lovely photos!

Great outing and I enjoyed your photos of the trip.

Thanks @redheadpei! Glad you stopped by.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Some fantastic photos there! I especially love the reflection of the blue kayak in the water, and also the shot under the stone bridge. Thanks for taking us along! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67