Pamcooks Crunchy Chocolate Concrete!! 🍫❤🍫❤🍫

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

image

Hey my fellow Steemians!

I was in a very nostalgic mood so decided to post a recipe of my fave childhood dessert.You may not be familiar with the chocolate concrete, but this is a very british dessert given in schools.Everyone I know have fond memories of this from my parents to my very own children.

There are very few ingredients required and it tastes amazing.These are all the ingredients you need.


image


Ingredients

170g Butter/Margerine
235g Plain Flour
185g Caster Sugar
30g Cocoa Powder
1 Egg


Method


Step 1 - Melt the Butter in a bowl
image


Step 2 - Add the Sugar and mix
image


Step 3 - Once mixed, add the flour
image


Step 4 - Now add the Cocoa Powder until it is of a thick consistency
image


Step 5 - Add the beaten egg to the mixture
image


Step 6 - Mix thoroughly
image


Step 7 - Pour the mixture in a grease proof tray (2 batches were made for my tin.Sprinkle water over the top.
image


Step 8 - Place in the top shelf of the oven for 45mins gas mark 3/170C .Once baked sprinkle with sugar.
image


Step 9 - As it is still pliable, cut the slices as soon as you take it out the oven.As it cools it will harden, so you will not be able to cut the slices without it breaking

image


image


There you have my comforting concrete crunch.At school we had the option for minted or strawberry custard.Yum Yum.Hope you all try my recipe.Please let me know your Food for Thoughts!!❤🍫❤🍫❤

Sort:  

It looks sooo delicious soft and yummy....thank you for showing step by step

Aww thank you at @universalpro. They are really yummy.If you prefer them softer only put in the oven for 30 mins.We normally like them crunchy thats how they traditionally meant to be.Thanks for your comment.You have to make them now.Let me know how it turns out👍🏼

Thank you for the suggestion.....I think crunchy would be better and more delicious

It so is.Just watch any fillings in the teeth😂😂

@pamcooks
is this your country's typical snacks?

@uncleboy it is more of a dessert.We have it with custard.If you air tight it, it lasts for good few days.We have lots of sweet and savoury snacks here in the UK.The chocolate concrete cake is more known as a dessert given in schools.I hope you try this recipe out👍🏼👍🏼

with the same hope.. :)

I sure hope you keep getting bursts of food nostalgia and continue to share them with us! Your chocolate concrete looks fantastic! And the name😆 I'll never make plain ol brownies again, the kids will flip over chucking bars of crunchy concrete at each other, lol! Loved this post @pamcooks!

😂😂😂honestly thats what our brownies are called here in the UK.Either Chocolate Crunch or Chocolate Concrete.They are solid as rock.My theory is they built some houses with them during the war.😂😂 I will defo be posting more of my creations.Hubbys and kids are loving my blogs at the moment as they can try before they vote! Thank you for your lovely comments.xx

Looks delicious @pamcooks! Sorry ive missed this the week you posted it! Keep these up🤗

Aww not a problem @cooknbake I will be posting more baking items in the coming weeks.These were delicious.I have my daughters bake sale next week so will be defo getting inspiration from your posts👍🏼👌❤

Yey!! So happy to hear😁 have fun at the bake sale! 🤗💃🕺

Very good
You have done good job

Oh yummy @pamcooks, I have such a sweet tooth, gona try this out! Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you mamma @lizelle.Make sure you have it with custard.It really does make it! 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58