Pamcooks Food Photography SOS Help Required!๐Ÿ“ท๐Ÿฅ•๐ŸŒฝ๐Ÿ“๐ŸŽ๐Ÿ“ธ

in #photography โ€ข 6 years ago

Hi my amazing steemians!

Since joining Steemit I have been inspired by all things food.I have really enjoyed viewing other steemians food photograhy.

I am a cook but I do not claim to be a photographer.My photos are still basic slap dash (who cares about the lighting).Click click.Food Selfie Yay Done! But I actually want my food to do all the talking rather then my words.

I made this gorgeous jamaican style fish and rice dish yesterday.I have to pay homage to my lovely friend Christlee for the inspirational dish.So I thought I would practice my non existent photography skills.I dont think I did too bad.... I will let use be the judge of that though.


Image 1 - Pre Oven baked Smoked Salmon & Hadock on a bed of onions, garlic and peppers

image


**Image 2 **- Pre Oven roasted sensationally sweet potatoe infused with sprigs of fresh thyme

image


** Image 3 ** - Pre Baked assortment of seasonal veggies coated with Olive oil and Crushed garlic

image


I love how vibarant the food looks.Unfortunately preping the food I have fantastic lighting, but by the time I have cooked the meal, evening draws in and the pics do not come out the same.All my photos are taken on my Samsung S7.So no folks not got any hi tech equipment here.

Well this is how my completed dish come together.It was sooo scrummy.Hubby and kids polished it off.You can see difference with the photo quality.It could be way better!


image


image


So my fellow steemians.If you could send me your advice on food photography I am welcome to all suggestions.I am here to learn and share.Would really appreciate your Food for Thoughts!!!! โค๐Ÿ“๐ŸŒฝ๐Ÿฅ•โค

Sort: ย 

wow.. your pics are really tempting @pamcooks ๐Ÿ˜Š

Aww thanks abhi atleast my photo skills are improving๐Ÿ“ธ

its the magic of your food that's making your photo skills better ๐Ÿ˜‡

This comment has received a 0.11 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @abhisteem13.

I am far from a professional photographer as for me taste and eating is what matters.... but I like to use natural light, preferably outside with a natural touch. Could use a lot of advice on indoor shooting too.

@any- goodrich thanks so much for the advice.I think thats why my photos are better due to natural light in the day.I live in the UK so often it is very cold if i had beautiful weather like yourselves I would defo have more outdoor photo shoots.Another fellow steemian advised to have a table lamp and play with the lighting.Will be trying this too for my evening meals.I really apreciate your input๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผโค

You are welcome. We can all learn from each other. Need some table lamps too when I go to the capital. Mine broke down. Luckily we have a lot of lights in the kitchen for the evenings.

@pamcooks, I'm afraid I can give you no help on the finish dish photography. I usually forget to pict it and just get it half eaten on the plate! Oh Well, Hubby says it tasts great so I guess I'm still in the winning column! Great dish, thanks. Upvoted this one.

Aww bless you.My family love everything i cook other then brussel sprouts.lol.They are the same.Since i have joined steemit they get a tad bit fustrated.I have turned into an amateur photographer and their food takes longer to arrive to them.๐Ÿ˜‚.Thanks for passing by.Hope you have a fab day.

Hi @pamcooks I have found with my pictures I have to use fake light and block out out side light as it changes to much.
I also don't use a camera but my samsung s7 as the quality on that is amazing. and they look good.
To give my items a shinny want to eat it look I use oil in a spray bottle to give it a little misting, and on fruit I polish them with microfiber clothes and spray with water.
I have loads and loads of food pictures but I was not wanting to us this account for that, but i have started doing bit now.
Hope this helps x

I hear you drew.Do you no the best setting on s7.I just have mine on default setting.Fab tip with the misting.Brings out natural colours and highlight more.You can tell when i have done the prep pics to when i have finished complete meal. The evening light has same colour hue.My photos will be better in Summer.๐Ÿ˜‚You defo good multi tasker.You prob want to make another steemit for cooking.I dont know how you will keep up. Im just about managing to deal with one account with all my very very little views๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

I have my picture size at 16.9 (9.1m)
which is 4032x2268
HDR on.
No flash.
I find that this gives me the best pictures. I use a table light as my light sauce and put it to a 90degree angle from the food to give it a nice look.
some times I find that if i rush they look crap, but if i take my time they look great.
to do with your view. I found that I had to get a high rep score. I still don't get many as some bloggers but I do get a few.
When I first started on steemit to get the traction I needed with my account I used the contest # to find contest I could enter. you then comment on the contest with a link to your post giving you more traction.
I have also found that reply to every comment on my blogs help people to come back and talk some more. just got to avoid bots who do a generic message as that justs wastes your time talking to them.
also using the right # works too.
hope this all helps :)

Lol I dont even get the bots upvoting me๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚.Thanks soo much for advice.I am going to invest in a table lamp and make sure have them settings on my phone.i will defo check the #contests see whats on.I have learnt more from you then I have the whole time I been on Steemit.But I always respond to all comments.If someone has taken to comment atleast you can do is conment back.Thats common courtesy.๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

There is a bot that will comment and give you an award for something you do on steemit, so if you post 4 or more times it says you have posted 4 time today come and see your reward.
You can invest in up-vote bots, these cost a little money from you sbd, and I don't use them. I spend a lot of time on steemit and for the sake of 10 to 50cents its not worth it to me.

One thing I do like to do is follow the big guys. not because I'm in the search for their up-votes but mainly to see how they have done things on steemit and why they get so many up-votes.
I normally choose a topic then trending and see who is in the top 10 posts of that week. I follow them as I know that if they are getting the up-votes then they are doing something right.

My biggest thing I did to start getting traction was go on a promo day with promo-uk, this guy @starkerz went around universities and talked to students who were interested in joining steemit. It was a great day out.
I met a chinese guy called @tumutanzi and he said because he knew I was a real person and he liked my work he would upvote my posts. overnight I was making $5 + dollars a post. I kept talking to people who would reply to me and my rep score went up.

I made a massive mistake though. in November I saw steem price drop. my account with 400 steem was at $350 dollars and I throw in the towel.
I cam back on after x-mas and saw that my account was then worth $3000. so i had to start my journey again, so I am rebuilding relationships that I had before x-mas.

I have made on comments sometimes $10 a comment. they are normally about 0.06c but every c counts in this game if your here for the money.

I'm here as a hobby as I am not allowed to work as I have been sick for years, but every now and again I take a little bit out and think wow I really worked for that and it was worth every penny.

FYI - don't up-vote every comment as this destroys your up-voting %
Just up-vote content you think needs up-voting.

If you have 500 steem dollars in your account you get a sliding bar this can give a % on a vote so you don't use your power up.
right now as your account is little in value every time you upvote it gives 100% and you only get 5 votes at that until it comes down to 75% then to 50%
and it takes days to build back.
I try and save the % by just up-voting certain things as my account would be worthless.
if you check here https://steemworld.org/@pamcooks this gives you all the info you need.

they high rep score post you see in trending if you vote on them in the first hour of them been on steemit you get sp for helping the post coming a trending post.

Oh my days loads to take in.I just come on here to keep my brain active since quitting work.Hubby told me about steemit said it would be good way to learn about crypto and post about things i enjoy.I can talk for England me, so for me bloggings fantastic and being able to earn is a brucie bonus.I write rather then nag the other half now.Im actually silent for a change.That link is fantastic.Really good dashboard telling you everything.I need to have a greater look into that to get familiar with it.Oh I dont do bots.Just feel like there fake votes.I want individuals to read my content and enjoy what i am writing just defeats the whole quality content objective.I am learning more bit by bit.I never let my voting power go below 80 i read that on steemit forums.So will defo take your advice.As i have my bambinos find it difficult to go to networking events.But will defo check the trending and high power ones.Thank you Drew for all the advice.Really do appreciate.๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67