THE RINGED SALAMANDER - AN OZARK MOUNTAINS ORIGINAL

in #photography6 years ago

These guys are really cool!


Plus, they are kind of only a "local" salamander. In fact, they can only be found in Missouri and Arkansas, with a few reaching into Oklahoma and Illinois. I guess that's why I never found any up in Wisconsin. People aren't even sure how many of these are out there, but some speculate that they be almost endangered, and supposedly they are becoming rarer every year.

Thankfully, we still see a few each spring, and this one was the first for the year. It's a long one, although it may not be as vibrant as some others. Enjoy these recent photos!

THE RINGED SALAMANDER

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-ringed-salamander

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Cool lizard.
Somehow lizard tends to run.
How can we save them?
Keep on steemin'

woww, this looks a very strange animal, my lifetime has never seen this animal.

what animal is this, mate.

Ringed Salamander

this looks very unique.

I don't think we have any ringed salamander in Africa. Learning about it for the first time.

We have a number of varieties here, and they are very interesting amphibians.

from an angle they look like a snake until you see the legs, majestic little creatures

Very peculiar little beasts.

Wooohhhhwww! This creature is amazing sir! I've never seen it in reality. I hope someday. thanks for these pictures..

Hahahahaha Papa touches every thing.

No doubt, this is a rare breed. Never seen this before, not even in pictures.

How have you been Papa?

Yes, Papa touches everything... I've been good!

I am happy to hear that Papa.

Wow! I've never seen one of these before! it looks so slimy but cute at the same time haha. You got some amazing pictures of it! thanks!

At first quick glance, the salamander looks rather like a snake in the grass in the first photo! He is a handsome creature. It never ceases to amaze me, the amount of wildlife that seems to find its way to your homestead.

Wow!!
You must be incredibly courageous
I cannot pick that up man!
Hope they are not dangerous.Havent heard of them ever

We have a lot of this in our area but I fear them so much. People say they are poisonous

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59